For His Glory

This morning I was reading Matthew chapter 8, and verses 14-15 struck me:

“When Jesus came into Peter’s house, he saw Peter’s mother-in-law lying in bed with a fever. He touched her hand and the fever left her, and she got up and began to wait on him.”

One touch. And she’s healed! And she responds. She waits on the Lord. Oh what a blessing! Not only that we are HEALED, which is in itself a miracle, but that we get to wait on the Lord!

But how often do I want to just remain in bed. “A little sleep, a little slumber….”. Jesus healed us for HIS glory, not for our comfort. He commands us to follow him, by picking up our cross. Dying to ourselves. It doesn’t end with him healing us – we have a responsibility too as children of God.

Lord forgive me for every time I ignore my responsibility, ignore YOU, and instead seek my own pleasure and comfort. I know that I need your help to pick up my cross, but I also know that I have a part in this as well. I have to actually reach down and pick it up. And follow you. And wait on you.

Leave a Reply

