Bold As Love….

This is a REALLY cool cover of Hendrix’ “Bold As Love”. I wanted to share it with you, not so much cause it’s cool (thought it IS), but because of what Mayer says around 3:43 (Or so?). He talks about being selfish, and his desire to LOVE. To really love. He describs it as “I got your back love”. I thought that was really cool. I wonder if he knows Jesus? Cause that is what he talks about.

“My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you. Greater love has no one than this: to lay down one’s life for one’s friends. You are my friends if you do what I command. I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business. Instead, I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you. You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you so that you might go and bear fruit—fruit that will last—and so that whatever you ask in my name the Father will give you. This is my command: Love each other. ”

So – Mayer’s desire is not a new concept. it may seem new to some. And – that makes me sad. Jesus told us and SHOWED us over two thousand years ago how to love. And we STILL ain’t got it.

Don’t get me wrong – we DO love. We do, all the time. But as a whole, we are more and more self-absorbed, and less and less concerned about our brothers and sisters. Good intentions get you nothing. So – what do we do?

“I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.”

Lord – I need MORE of you in my heart. Yet I so often I seek my own path, my own glory, my own agenda. Forgive me Lord, and thank you for the convictions you have placed on my heart. I realize that I will NEVER love as you commaned me to, without you at the center of my heart. Come, Holy Spirit, and reside in me……..

Leave a Reply

