Hate the Sin….

You hear that saying all the time – “Love the sinner, hate the sin”. It makes sense! But do we really, really do that? Do we really love the sinner? If we did – why don’t we REALLY hate the sin? First in our lives, then in others. Jesus told us to get the plank our of our eyes so that we could help our brothers with the spec in theirs.

So why are we so quick to get the spec out of their eye, with this 2×4 still in ours? We end up doing more damage this way, as our 2×4 crashes into everything and we’re rendered ineffective. And those who NEED the spec removed are let down by us. I know that I have more than once let someone down when they were in need, because I was so wrapped up in my sin, or in “trying to attone for my sin” (which is sin as well). Don’t I love my brother enough? Don’t I love myself enough??? Don’t I love my Lord and God enough???

“Love the sinner, hate the sin”. But we are AFRAID of upsetting our brothers. I’m not talking about going on tv and berating everyone who doesn’t do what we think they should. I’m talking about our little circle of influence. When we see our brothers and sisters going down a path of destruction, are we reaching out to them? Are we praying for them? Are we using the Word of God to teach, rebuke and correct? So often we are not. So how can we say we love our brothers if we don’t hate the sin?

“Love the sinner, hate the sin” – but it’s so much easier to just hate the sinner. Those dirty, thieving, lying, adulterous, murderous fiends! Oh wait – that’s me! Ummmmm……

Psalm 97:10 – Let those who love the LORD hate evil, for he guards the lives of his faithful ones and delivers them from the hand of the wicked.

Lord – I do love you. Help me to love you, and truly hate the sin in my life. Help me to purge that which grieves you from my life, instead of so often giving in to it, or just plain being lazy about it. How can I say I love my brothers and sisters, how can I say I love YOU, when I’m so often wrapped up in myself?

Lord – help me to love my brothers and sisters. Where they are today. And help me to be a source of truth, of love, of purity, for my brothers and sisters. I can’t do any of this without you – it’s YOU I want them to see, not me. They’ve seen enough of me…..

Leave a Reply

