Whoever Believes…..

From Proverbs 10:

“The fear of the LORD adds length to life, but the years of the wicked are cut short.

The prospect of the righteous is joy, but the hopes of the wicked come to nothing.

The way of the LORD is a refuge for the righteous, but it is the ruin of those who do evil.

The righteous will never be uprooted, but the wicked will not remain in the land.”

Pretty harsh statements, no? Maybe could be considered arrogant? How does one define who is righteous? Especially in light of God’s statement that there is “none righteous. No, not even one”?

Thanks be to God for his son Jesus Christ. As it says in John 3:16, “For God so loved the world that he gave his only begotten son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have everlasting life”.

Friends, I don’t want you to perish! And God the Father certainly cares more for you than I could ever attempt to! So much so that he sent his son to die in your place. That may not seem necessary to you – but when you consider for just a moment what Heaven and Hell is, and how we choose our eternal destination by either accepting Christ into our hearts and worshipping him as Lord and King, or rejecting him completely – I’m afraid, saddened, and dismayed that some of you may have chosen the latter.

I don’t say this to judge you. God knows I am in no place to judge, and I do not deserve this amazing gift he’s given to me, and he offers to you.  No, this really is between you and God.

But I do ask you to honestly search your heart. Do you believe in God? Do you believe Jesus Christ is Lord and Savior? If so – great! Do you honestly believe that? Not in words, or outward appearance – in your heart? Do you?

Ask God to help you with this, and if you have not honestly asked him to save you from yourself, to live in you, to transform you from the inside out – I pray desperately that you do.

And if you do not believe in God – well, I pray for you as well, and I beg you to consider WHY you choose not to believe. I ask you to not just give a quick stock answer as to “why there can be no god”, just as I would not want to give you some quick stock answer as to why he exisits. There is so much more to this than just winning an argument – this is not a debate. This is life and death, and I want you to know what you are choosing to deny for yourself. So I humbly ask you to do just that.  And I care enough for you to risk sounding like a zealot, a freak, or whatever, to alienate myself in hopes that you will instead choose eternal life through Jesus Christ.

And – for those of you like me, who have lived their life afraid to share this wonderful gift that God has given to me, so undeserved, so wonderful, more amazing than anything we could imagine of ourselves or create for ourselves – pray for me, as I do for you, that we can get over ourselves, over our fear of man, over our own limited worldview that we’ve accepted that says “faith is a private matter”, and ask the Holy Spirit to empower us. To bind up and cast out fear, and to make us bold and courageous to be obedient witnesses to our Lord. In our words, in our actions, in our very lives.  And – to take it way beyond something like this, in print, where who knows who reads or considers these words.  To wait on the Lord and act when he calls us.

The Good News of Jesus Christ is just this: “That if you confess with your mouth, ‘Jesus is Lord,’ and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.”

Friends, before writing the word of God off as arrogant, exclusive, etc, please, PLEASE consider how arrogant it is to assume there is no creator of the universe who loves YOU more than you could ever know.  So much so that he humbled himself, took on your sins, my sins, and the sins of the world and died for us.

Leave a Reply

