The God of All Comfort

2 Corinthians 1:3-4 says “Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God.”

The God of all comfort. I like that. I wonder, however, how much I expect that “comfort” to be “convenience”? How often do I complain when things don’t go my way, when God is there to COMFORT me, not to appease me and do my bidding like a parent of some spoiled child. I thank God that he’s the God of COMFORT, not of CONVENIENCE.

I also thank God that this comfort is not for our glory, but for his. He loves us so much, and desires to comfort us in times of trouble, to be the source of strength, comfort, grace, love. And he does this for his glory. And he provides us comfort SO THAT we would do the same for others. Again – for his glory. He gives us a heart of compassion for others – so that we would love them as he loves us.

Praise be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God.

Leave a Reply

