Create In Me a Pure Heart

Today is the beginning of Lent. What a wonderful time to reflect on one’s relationship with God, to repent of sins, to turn towards the Lord instead of away. Oh, that we would do this daily, and not just “in season”. 🙂

Psalm 51:10 says “Create in me a pure heart, and renew a steadfast spirit in me”. I am beginning to pray this daily, as I am so easily prone to wander. Not necessarily to sinful acts – though they can and do often follow, as I of my self do not do well at resisting the temptations laid upon me by my enenmy.  No, just to “grow stagnant” or get lethargic or laxidasical in my walk with God.  That in itself is actually a sin, as I am turning to things of the world – even if they seem innocent – instead of my Lord and Savior.

It’s during times like Lent that we consider this more often, no?  That we almost make new “new year’s resolutions”.  “I’m gonna go to church more often”.  “I’m gonna pray every day”.  “I’m gonna read that bible all the way through!”.  But we so often fail in this area (I do), just as we can often with new year’s resolutions.  Why?  I think it’s because we are missing the point……

It’s not “I”, but “HE”.  While all of those things are great, and we do need them – we need to truly turn to God.  To truly trust in God.  To truly seek him, and not the ways of the world.  Oh, that we would do this daily, and not just “in season”.

Lord, I love you.  I love you because you loved me first.  I love you because you loved me so much that you sent your only son to die in my place.  I love you because you love me so much that you have numbered every hair on my head.  I love you because you have comforted me in times of trouble.  I love you because you have blessed me, and because you bless others through me.  Father God, create in me a pure heart, and renew a steadfast spirit in me.  I pray this in your son Jesus’ name.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

