No Looting In Japan

Wow – where can one start, with the earthquakes and tsunami in Japan….. Heartbreaking….. I’ve been praying, because I just don’t understand what is going on. I doesn’t fit in my little picture of how things are to happen in my “perfect world”. But I trust God is sovereign, and desires all of us come to him. I don’t know how this all fits in there – but he does. I have to trust him, and ask him to guide me in how to pray, how to give, how to help…..

One thing that struck me, is an article my wife pointed me to, about the fact that there is virtually no looting going on in Japan, in the wake of these horrible disasters. You can read it for yourself here.

This just blew our minds!  No looting!  And I read somewhere else that an American reporter over there was offered food by those who are suffering, homeless, and themselves scrounging for food.  Amazing!

And – what is startling too, is that the percentage of Christians is about 1% in Japan.  And then you compare that to here in America, with one of the highest percentages of Christians, and it seems we look for a reason to loot…..  How does that work???  Aren’t we as Christians supposed to be able to stand and trust in the Lord, and do what’s right in times of trouble?  It’s what we are called to do – why do we fall short???

And it’s not just in times of trouble.  We have a looting mentality.  We take pens, paper, staplers, you name it, from work.  We cheat on our taxes.  We often only give if we know it’s tax-deductable (It’s a huge selling point when one is soliciting donations).  We’re often looking for how this will benefit US, vs how it might benefit our neighbor…..  That saddens me.  And I’m right there in the mix, the pen-stealing, tax-deducting, greedy looter…….

From Philippians 2….  “Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit.  Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others.”

Lord – give me a heart that loves.  That gives.  That seeks gain for others, not for myself.  Purge this looting tendancy from my heart.  Forgive me for all the times I give you a bad name.  For all the times I go my own way, instead of being obedient, laying myself down for the sake of the Gospel and for the sake of others.  Make me a vessel that does your will alone.  In Jesus’ name I pray.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

