Isaiah 53:2

He grew up before him like a tender shoot,
and like a root out of dry ground.
He had no beauty or majesty to attract us to him,
nothing in his appearance that we should desire him.

The fact that Jesus, King of King, Lord of Lords – GOD – would humble himself and come to this earth as one of us is astounding to me.  The fact that he came as a baby, helpless, fully dependant on his mother and father, just blows my mind…….

However, as amazing as that is, it is something that I’ve “come to terms with”, as much as one can anyway.  I just know it to be true.  So even though it’s extraodinary in itself, it’s something that has just been ingrained into me even before I really knew the Lord and believed with my heart.  What really gets me, is the second part of this verse – “he had no beauty or majesty to attract us to him, nothing in his apperance that we should desire him”.  What????

First of all – we are all accustomed to a Jesus that looks like this , but this verse suggests maybe that’s not the case?  Or – this was not considered beautiful back then.  Either way-  the verse is suggesting that there was nothing in his physical appearance that would draw us to him.  That is amazing to me for a few reasons:

1.  In this day and age, we are drawn to beauty.  So much so, that we pay money to “fix” ourselves.  You name it, you can fix or replace it these days.  So it’s hard to get my vain head around the fact that Jesus may not have been Brad Pitt.

2.  The fact that he wasn’t outwardly beautiful by our vain terms, makes his allure all that much more amazing!  Scripture not only says that he wasn’t physically beautiful, but that many were drawn to him.  People just KNEW.  Just like when he met me – I just knew.  While I couldn’t see it with my own eyes, I just – KNEW that I was, in my heart, gazing upon beauty that is numatched.  My life changed forever at that moment.

3.  Recall that satan was most beautiful of all.  He was also extremely vain.  Much like we are today (see point #1)…..  Jesus not only humbled himself and became a man, humbled himself and came as a baby, he humbled himself and likely came as “Joe Normal” instead of Brad Pitt.  Amazing!!!

4.  Have you ever been attracted to someone who is not that “physically attractive”?  External beauty is fleeting, but internal beauty is lasting.  I can only imagine that is what my wife sees in me – it must be something in me that she finds beautiful, not something external.  🙂  Jesus, being God with us, was the most beautiful thing we could ever experience!  And those who were with him 2000 years ago were not distracted with the external, but fully experienced the lasting, ETERNAL beauty of our Lord and Savior!

5.  We still do not know what God looks like……  Oh how I long to see his face…..  I often dwell on that – what will it be like to see the King face to face????  I think of Moses, as he was asking God to show him his glory….

Then Moses said, “Now show me your glory.”

And the LORD said, “I will cause all my goodness to pass in front of you, and I will proclaim my name, the LORD, in your presence. I will have mercy on whom I will have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I will have compassion.  But,” he said, “you cannot see my face, for no one may see me and live.”

Then the LORD said, “There is a place near me where you may stand on a rock.  When my glory passes by, I will put you in a cleft in the rock and cover you with my hand until I have passed by.  Then I will remove my hand and you will see my back; but my face must not be seen.”

Lord, just as Moses asked, I desire to see your face!  I know I am not worthy to even ask – yet I cannot help it.  I cannot wait.  I long for the day when I can see you face to face – even if that is scary to me at the same time.  I am thankful that you desire me so much more than I could ever imagine – so much more than I do you.  I wait patiently for that day.  And as I wait, I will serve you, will love you, and will allow you to mold me into your image.  All for your glory, forevermore!

Leave a Reply

