Isaiah 53:4

Surely he took up our infirmities
and carried our sorrows,
yet we considered him stricken by God,
smitten by him, and afflicted.

It’s amazing that, while in the middle of his suffering, as his hands and feet are being nailed to the cross, Jesus cries out, “Father forgive them, for they know not what they are doing!”

All the while, those who were in attendance were willingly putting him to death, thinking it was the right thing to do.  Thinking he was a blasphemer.  Thinking he was in fact stricken by God.  “If he truly is the son of God, let God save him!”

The whole idea of God dying in our place – that’s a lot to wrap our heads around, even for someone like me who has accepted this as truth.  It just doens’t make sense!  Couldn’t there be another way?  Why would a just God put his own son to death?

It’s easy for us to forget our own sinfulness, and the fact that just one sin – even the smallest one – separates us from God.  He can’t have it in his presence.  Can you imagine having to atone for every sin you ever committed?  How would you keep track, and really determine if you’re paid up?  I mean, nowadays I suppose we could create some sort of database, and tally it up fairly easily.  But what if we forgot something?  Your data is only as good as the data you put in.  I don’t know that I could list for you all the sins I’ve committed in a day – I’d be so busy marking all this down, I’d never get anything else done.  And all the while, I’d be distracted from seeking God with all my heart.  And I’d quickly get discouraged, seeing this mountain in front of me that I’ll never traverse…..

Thank God for his Son, for his ultimate atoning sacrifice!  Surely, he took on ALL our infirmities.  ALL our sins.  Why then, do I still try and atone for my own sins?  Why do I hold on to guilt, allowing it to consume me?  Don’t get me wrong – I’m not implying we can just do wahtever we want, and that is ok.  Not at all!  As Paul says in his letter to the Romans, when faced with this issue, “Let it not be so!”  But when we confess our sins, God can do an amazing thing in us – his grace not only saves us from our past sins, it also delivers us from our sinful habits, if we allow it to!

Why do I love my past sin so much, I’d rather hold on to it instead of clinging to the vine, to my Savior?  A few verses come to mind, when I struggle with this.  From John 8:

Jesus straightened up and asked her, “Woman, where are they? Has no one condemned you?”

“No one, sir,” she said.

“Then neither do I condemn you,” Jesus declared. “Go now and leave your life of sin.”

From John 15:

“You are already clean because of the word I have spoken to you.”

From Psalm 32:

Blessed is he whose transgressions are forgiven, whose sins are covered.

All of these verses, and so many more, show that when we are forgiven, we are FORGIVEN.  It’s done.  So we are not to hold on to that past sin.  Otherwise, we spit in the face of Jesus, as he is nailed to the cross.  We then, through our behavior, act like those who thought they were justified in killing our Lord 2000 years ago.  We diminish the power of his redemtion in our own lives, and become ineffective in other’s lives.  Just as Paul says about maintaining a sinful lifestyle, “Let it not be so!”, we should say that about holding on to our past.  If you have recieved Christ in your heart, then give up the lies that you are still garbage, and know that you are ALREADY CLEAN because of him.  And live accordingly.

Leave a Reply

