I’d Rather Not Be a Doorkeeper….

Yesterday, I posted Psalm 84 for your review. Many of you have read it before. many of you may love it like I do.  Many of you may profess to want this in your lives, just as I do.

But do I?  I have to confess, I don’t necessarily want to be a doorkeeper.  To be the one who nobody notices, who doesn’t get the credit, the reward – the GLORY.  All too often, I want the glory……

God is telling me, “You don’t need that glory.  Be a doorkeeper.”  And I respond, “Lord, help me to be just that.  To truly die to myself, and cling to you.  Help me to be a servant, not strive to lead.  Help me to be the forgotten one, the passed over – to be truly humble……”

It’s not easy.  But it certainly would be better, for even one day, than a thousand days anywhere else….

Better is one day in your courts
than a thousand elsewhere;
I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God
than dwell in the tents of the wicked.

Leave a Reply

