Man’s Testimony About Man…

He did not need man’s testimony about man, for he knew what was in a man (John 2:25)

I often wonder why God chooses us to proclaim his Gospel, when he could certainly do a better job.  I almost always botch it up, if I even get the courage to share the good news with others.  While it isn’t about me, I still make it about me – winning an argument, “saving face”, or even neglecting to share because I don’t want to look stupid…….

But – how stupid can I look, really?  Or better yet – how much more stupid can I look than I truly am?  🙂

So riddle me this – if I’m so willing and excited to share all this cool stuff about my kids (Dylan’s baseball escapades, Stella’s guitar virtuoso-isms or the fact that she’s a rocker like her dad and mom), or I can brag on my super cool, sweet and beautiful wife all day long (and she is super cool, sweet and beautiful, by the way),  why is it so hard or scary or intimidating to share the love of Christ with others?????

For some reason I still have it stuck in my head that I have to CONVERT others to my way of thinking.  Don’t get me wrong – this is not my intention, for more than one reason.  One, if I’m converting someone to my way of thinking, then I become the object of worship (idolatry).  Two, I don’t tend to value my way of thinking enough to make others want to see things my way – which is flat out wrong, because my way of thinking is not my way but His.  Three, I know how annoying that is, and I myself tend to rebel when others do so to me.  So when I say I have it stuck in my head that I must convert, I know deep down that is not the case.  I say that only to state that it’s a fear that creeps up.

I know down in my heart that I’m not called to save others.  I CAN’T save others.  That’s His job!  I’m just called to share.  And others can take it or leave it, hear it or shut it out.  Seems to easy, and I really don’t know why it’s so intimidating!

Yet it is.  And even though it is intimidating, I often neglect to ask the Holy Spirit to speak.  So I either chicken out, or worse…..  I spout off, making it MY argument to win, not HIS testimony.

And while others do such a better job at this – I know I’m not alone.  And I know nobody is perfect in sharing his good news – we all botch it up from time to time.

So – going back to the verse I quoted, “He did not need man’s testimony about man, for he knew what was in a man“.  We see that Jesus does not need our testimony about us.  That doesn’t mean we don’t share our story, and what he’s done for us.  In fact, it then isn’t about us anymore – it’s what HE has done!  Still – he doesn’t need it.  He will have his glory, regardless of whether or not I share.  His word says that “every knee will bow, and every tongue confess that Jesus is Lord”.  It doesn’t say “if Ted tells these people about it”.

There is enough in the world that points to him and his glory – or we can even look at the world itself for the love! – that he doesn’t need us to share our stories.  And he knows that we will mess it up, more often than not!  So – why does he give us this daunting task then, if he doesn’t need us???

Relationship.  It’s one thing I can think of.  Just as he desires a relationship with us, he has placed in us a desire to have a relationship with others.  And just as no relationship with anyone has been as pure, as honest, as fulfilling as the one I have with Jesus, lately I have found that the godly relationships I have with others have been on a level I myself could never have imagined!

This is not to slight any of my friends or family members who don’t believe.  No, in fact, quite the opposite.  I would argue that a fear of being mocked, or “what someone might think” has prohibited relationships from developing further with some people in my life – because I have felt like I couldn’t be myself.  And really, I’m doing them a discredit, by NOT being myself.  That I apologize for, and that I must change….

Selflessness, vs selfishness.  So, he’s done all this for me.  Why would I not want to boast in him?  I can easily boast of my own deeds – make myself look cool.  Why are we so quick to do this, yet so slow to brag on someone else, much less the Savior himself???  So I’ll say this – silence is selfish.  If I am not willing to share with you this gift – a gift you can freely receive, or freely reject – how much more do I consider myself than you?  And if Jesus considered all of us more than him (which is why he died for us – all of us….), and I’m called to follow him, then why do I continue to put myself before you?  That I apologize for, and that I must change…..

It just blows my mind, that a God so big would not only trust to us, but also empower us to be the bringers of this good news!

How beautiful on the mountains are the feet of those who bring good news, who proclaim peace, who bring good tidings, who proclaim salvation, who say to Zion, “Your God reigns!” Isaiah 52:7)

Leave a Reply

