And to Goodness, Knowledge….

For this very reason, make every effort to add to your faith goodness; and to goodness, knowledge; and to knowledge, self-control; and to self-control, perseverance; and to perseverance, godliness; and to godliness, brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness, love. For if you possess these qualities in increasing measure, they will keep you from being ineffective and unproductive in your knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ (2 Peter 1:5-8)

In my last post, I talked a bit about allowing the Holy Spirit to work in us – what I think of when I read Peter admonishing us to “make every effort” to add to our faith goodness.  We can’t add goodness without the Holy Spirit.  Sure we can be “good”, by the world’s standards.  But we will not be able to add the goodness that comes from God to our lives without the Holy Spirit working in us.  Sort of like this verse in Psalm 127:

Unless the LORD builds the house,
   its builders labor in vain.
Unless the LORD watches over the city,
   the watchmen stand guard in vain.

Without God, we can’t do anything of value.  Thankfully with God all things are possible!

In this post, I want to tackle the next thing we are to make every effort to add….

and to goodness, knowledge….

When I first was saved, I wanted so badly to memorize scripture.  But I just never could.  This really took me quite some time to be able to do.  I struggled with this, and even got to a point where I’d say “Well, it’s just not for me.  Others can do it, but it isn’t in the cards for me”.

The thing is, I wasn’t really diving into the word, as I should have.  I’d try the excercies of memorization, as if you were doing so for a homework assignment, or to try out for a part in a play.  But if you put it into the context of trying out for a part in a play, who would win that part?  The one who memorized the words, or the one who FELT it, and in turn made YOU feel it?

I’d bet on the latter…..

And more important – I didn’t grasp WHY I should memorize his word.  I wanted to more because I thought it would be cool, or impress others.  I never considered it as a way for God to change my heart.  I figured he’s already doing that.  🙂  I think because of this, God never allowed for me to know his word until I knew WHY I should……

All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness,  so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work (2 Timothy 3:16)

How can a young man keep his way pure?  By living according to your word.  I seek you with all my heart; do not let me stray from your commands.  I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.  Praise be to you, O LORD; teach me your decrees (Psalm 119:9-12)

My son, keep my words and store up my commands within you.  Keep my commands and you will live; guard my teachings as the apple of your eye.  Bind them on your fingers; write them on the tablet of your heart (Proverbs 7:1-3)

At some point, my view on memorizing scripture changed.  I know longer cared to do so to show off to my friends.  As I started to thirst for his truth, he started to reveal it.  And I began to soak it in.  And suddenly, as if it had always been, I was MEMORIZING SCRIPTURE!  A verse here and there, nothing profound, and nothing I could “use to impress others”.  But I was beginning to KNOW the truth.  The next was putting it into practice….  More on that tomorrow…..

One thought on “And to Goodness, Knowledge….

  1. Pingback: And to Knowledge, Self-Control…. « tedhtunes

Leave a Reply

