Re-Post – “I’m a Whosoever”

I dug up some of my old blogs from a year or two ago. As they are like journal entries, that everyone could see, I thought it was kinda cool to read some of them – and kind of difficult to read others….

Still – I thought it might be cool to share some with you here. Enjoy!

“I’m a Whosever” – Originally posted September 14, 2009

My good friend Marty said that to me last week. And it just struck me. Yeah! I’m a whosoever too!

John 3:16 says “For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have eternal life”.

Me? Really? Little old me?

Yes – ME. I’m a whosoever. I confess Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior. I’m who He came to die for. I’m who He conquered death for. ME.

And YOU. And it’s unconditional. All you have to do is accept Jesus Christ as your Lord and Savior.

But wait – isn’t that a condition??? I have to accept Jesus as my Lord and Savior??? How then is this unconditional????

Free will. One of the greatest gifts God gave us (other than grace maybe? Or salvation?). We can CHOOSE not to receive this gift of eternal life. All we have to do is – NOT believe. NOT accept Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior. NOT allow Him in to our heart. Revelation 3:20 says “Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me”.

See – He will not just open the door and come in. But He IS knocking. I know He was knocking at my door for many, many
years, before I finally opened it. But I did open it. And my life has been changing daily ever since.

It’s kind of sad really, to think that some would turn down this gift. Or some would think they are not worthy of this gift.

But that’s the thing – NONE of us are worthy! Romans 3:23 says “For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God”. ALL have sinned. Every one of us. And just one sin removes us from the glory of God. Just one sin ensures our spiritual death. And know that this death isn’t here on earth. This life is short – and we all know we will die some day. But this death mentioned (“None shall perish”) is an eternal death. This death is Hell. One sin is all it takes……

Yet God does think we are worthy! He SO loves us, that He came to earth, humbled Himself – the King of all Kings – became a man, just like you and me, and DIED an excruciating, painful death. For us. For ALL of us. For whosoever believe with their heart – TRULY believe with your heart – and confesses with your mouth that Jesus Christ is Lord and Savior. To pick up your own cross daily and follow Jesus. To allow Him to transform you – oh, how you will be AMAZED at how He’ll transform you! All that garbage in your life – it’s not what is meant for you. You CAN put it down. His way is easier. Jesus says in John 8 “If you hold on to my teachings you are really my disciples. Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free”.

And better yet – He conquered death! Yeah, He’s God, so He’s all powerful. So big deal – of COURSE God can conquer death. But the point is – He was fully man while on earth. This means He was subject to all of the temptations we are subject to. Yet He overcame. Read Matthew 4 for an account of how satan tempted Jesus, and How Jesus prevailed. WE can do that too. We can, in Jesus’ name. And we can have eternal life in Jesus’ name as well! For God SO loves us!

I’m a whosoever. And I want you to be one too. Will you? I pray that you will.

Leave a Reply

