Re-Post – “Only God Is Awesome!”

I dug up some of my old blogs from a year or two ago. As they are like journal entries, that everyone could see, I thought it was kinda cool to read some of them – and kind of difficult to read others….

Still – I thought it might be cool to share some with you here. Enjoy!

Only God Is Awesome! – Originally posted September 21, 2009

Think about that. I’m not awesome. Neither are you. You might be pretty cool (I think you are, anyway). But not awesome. Yet – if you are like me, you throw that word around for everything – from a great concert, to a cool baseball game, to something you just at at McDonald’s. Well – maybe not McDonald’s – but a great meal. Awesome?? Does a great meal inspire awe??? I’m not so sure it does. While fireworks are cool, and we “oooh” and ahhh” over them – do they inspire awe? Do they inspire “an overwhelming feeling of reverence, admiration, fear, etc., produced by that which is grand, sublime, extremely powerful, or the like”? (from Dictionary.com)

Not quite. Not for me anyway. The only thing in my life that inspires such awe – that is so truly awesome – is God. He is and ever shall be the only thing that brings me to my knees. That humbles me. That REALLY should be given the respect and glory. Yet – like many, I throw that word around for almost anything. And I need to stop doing that.

I was convicted of this habit of mine last weekend. In a loving, yet firm way. And I will do my best to not carelessly use that word anymore, when it should be reserved for our Lord alone.

I was thinking of how I would best articulate this in a note to you. I can’t.  I’m not smart enough to get the point across. If you will, however, please pray about this and see what God says about using this word for anyone or anything besides Him. What do you think He thinks about us using such a term that should be reserved for Him and Him alone for such trivial things in our lives?

It was almost two years ago, in Dodge Center, where I was convicted of this.  It’s also there that I was given the word that I am to “contend for the glory of the Lord”.  Tonight, I return to play to some amazing people and share in adoration of our Lord and King, Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

