Re-Post – “Silly Goose”

I dug up some of my old blogs from a year or two ago. As they are like journal entries, that everyone could see, I thought it was kinda cool to read some of them – and kind of difficult to read others….

Still – I thought it might be cool to share some with you here. Enjoy!

Silly Goose – Originally posted May 18, 2010

This morning, as I drove in, I (and other cars) were stopped, because a family of geese were crossing the road. Not a big deal, and kind of fun to watch as the litle guys waddle about. Very cute. But what struck me most was the father, taking of the tail end of the train. It was a four-lane road (two each way), and i was in the left lane of my side. The geese were crossing, and ended up on the side opposite of me (going in the other direction). So I “could” have just gone by.

But the father did something I thought was very cool. Maybe I’ve just never paid that much attention – but he pretty much started to “slow down” as they crossed. And he kept making this backwards, “jerking” motion with his neck. He was in my lane until they were almost crossed on the other two lanes. I felt like he was saying “I’ll stop your car if I have to, don’t make me stop your car”.

He put himself in harm’s way for his family! He “laid his life down”, if you will. How many of us fathers really do that? OK – maybe we don’t have to cross a road like that, standing in traffic to insure our kids don’t get hit. Or maybe we do, depending on where we live. But I’m talking about intangibles too. Prayer. Purity. EXAMPLE. Putting aside our pleasures, for their benefit. Putting their salvation before our, or even THEIR, instant gratification. That father goose showed me a great example today, and got me thinking about my life as a father. May sound silly to you. But to me, it’s pretty good stuff I tell you what!

Leave a Reply

