Re-Post – “In Our Weakest Moments”

I dug up some of my old blogs from a year or two ago. As they are like journal entries, that everyone could see, I thought it was kinda cool to read some of them – and kind of difficult to read others….

Still – I thought it might be cool to share some with you here. Enjoy!

“In our Weakest Moments” – Originally posted July 26, 2009

I was praying today, about how I so often fail. Fall. Stumble. Over the same stupid little stumbling blocks in life. The same ones. Over and over. And – I don’t want to do that. So I asked God to help me to overcome this. And He said “I am. Just accept my help.” And very weird, but John Mellencamp’s “Weakest Moments” started playing in my head…..

Yeah – weird. Now – he was John Cougar at the time. But that has nothing to do with the story. But the chorus just goes “I’ll be with you in your weakest moments”. And God IS with us in our weakest moments. He’s always providing a way out. How often do we take Him up on it? I know I’ve turned Him down too often. Thanks God, but I kinda like wallowing in my sin. It’s comfortable. Familiar.

And – He’ll let me wallow. But that hand is always there. Think about that! If it were me, I’d get fed up with me and tell me to take a hike. You’re on your own buddy. But no – Not God. He’s always faithful. When you follow Him. And even when you don’t.

This doesn’t mean we should expect this, or gamble on the fact that He’ll get us out of trouble when we are in a bind. No – His desire is for us to desire Him and His ways, to follow Him. To leave our life of sin and selfishness. But when we stumble – we all do – He’s there to pick us up. And we are tempted – we all are – He’s providing a way out.

God, I praise You for the way out. I praise You for Your patience with me. I ask for Your strength, Your mercy, Your will be done in my life. I ask the same for my friends, loved ones, enemies – all your children. I ask this in Jesus’ name. Amen.

I found an amazing verse in Romans – Romans 15:30, goes like this:

I urge you, brothers (and sisters), by our Lord Jesus Christ, and by the love of the Spirit, to join my in my struggle by praying to God for me.

I ask you to pray for me, as I will be for you. And may God bless you.

T.

Leave a Reply

