Do Not Be Anxious…

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. (Philippians 4:6-7)

Very powerful verses.  Ones many of us know.  Ones I’ve “preached” to my wife, my kids, my friends.  Ones, sadly, I don’t follow very well myself.  If you break it down……

Do not be anxious about anything……

That’s the first part I fail in, when trying to apply this verse to my life.  I am often anxious.  How am I going to complete this task, I don’t even know how?  What if I fail?  Why didn’t they tell me about this earlier?  I have no time!  What if something else comes up, and I can’t do it?  And another, and another and another…..

What if my kids don’t accept Christ?  So many people in this world – DON’T.  What am I doing wrong here?

What if I fail AGAIN at being a husband????  Have you seen the statistics????

You get it?  I’m anxious.

but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God…..

I change my mind – THIS is the first part I fail in.  I simply don’t pray enough.  I am either too lazy (I want more sleep), too boastful and proud (I can do it on my own – or another form of pride – I don’t want to bother you God….), or too ashamed of my sin – the shame pushes me away from God, which leads me vulnerable when tempted so I sin again…..  Lather, rinse, repeat……

If I were to pray more – to just approach Jesus with everying in my life, good and bad – I think I’d do a lot less failing in the area of being anxious.  Why?

And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

If we put on Jesus – truly put on the armor of God, and trust him with our every care, we will have peace.  And Joy.  Jesus says he wants his joy to be in us, and our Joy to be complete.  Why would we not take him up on that?

I know it seems so hard though.  it’s a constant battle.  One day I’ll do well, one day I’ll fall flat on my face.  I can tell you the difference between the good and bad days though – and it’s never MY doing that makes the difference.  It’s when I stop DOING, and just BE with him………  When I focus on God, and all his gloriouis, beautiful qualities.  When I am truly thankful for all that he is, and all that he’s done for me.  And I’m not talking cars and houses – I’m talking saving me from the old self that lied, stole, yelled, lusted, hated, betrayed, gossiped – the list goes on and on….

Sure, I will turn back to that old self from time to time – when I forget that he’s saved me and made me new, that he has great plans for me.  I am thankful that it’s becoming less and less, as he’s transforming me, making me perfect as he is perfect, and ONLY because he is perfect.  This has nothing to do with me – the only way I can ever fully stop being anxious and giving it all to him, is to constantly think on him.  That is why these beautiful words follow the previous verses…..

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

This describes Jesus, as only he is true, noble, right, pure, lovely and admirable.  Only he is worthy of our praise.

Amen…..

Leave a Reply

