You Can’t Please Everyone…..

Fear of man will prove to be a snare,    but whoever trusts in the LORD is kept safe (Proverbs 29:25)

No doubt, many of you have read or heard about the controversy over the Susan G. Komen foundation pulling funds from Planned Parenthood.  This caused qute an uproar among supporters and detractors alike.  And in a matter of days – this was seemingly reversed.  Again – an uproar among supporters and detractors alike.  I’d like not to take sides on this issue, but instead encourage organizations like SGK, who seem to have become someone’s enemy over the last few days, or at least been a pawn in this political battle.  I must confess I’m going to speak/write somewhat out of ignorance here (meaning – I don’t know what I’m talking about).  But bear with me.

When I was a kid, I was told this story. I always loved it, and the moral to the story.  I’m not sure you’ve heard it?  I’ll retell it here:

One day a man was going to market with his son and his donkey. they met a couple on the way.

“Why walk when you have an donkey to ride?” called out the husband, “seat the boy on the donkey.”

“I would like that,” said the boy, “help me up father.”

And the father did that willingly.

Soon they met another couple. “How shameful of you!” cried the woman, “let your father ride, won’t he be tired?”

So, the boy got down and the father rode the donkey. Again they marched on.

“poor boy”, said the next person they met, “why should the lazy father ride while his son is walking?”

So, the boy got onto the donkey too. As they went on, they met some travellers.

“How cruel of them!” They are up to kill the poor donkey.” cried one of the travellers.

Hearing this, the father and the son got down. Now they decided to carry the donkey on their shoulders. As they did so, the travellers broke into laughter.

The laughter frightened the donkey. It broke free and galloped away.

MORAL: You can not please everyone

It seems to me that SGK wanted to “please everyone” here.  First, they were essentially bullied into making a decision to stop funding Planned Parenthood.  Then, it seems they were bullied into reversing that decision.  No matter which side of the fence you are on here, we see that politicians and special interest groups had their way with SGK.  I encourage SGK to just “continue on with their mode of transportation”, and continue to raise funds for cancer research.  Nothing more, nothing less.  As I understand it, SGK funds Planned Parenthood solely to perform breast exams.  If I’m wrong here, let me know.  But if that is the case – and Planned Parenthood DOES perform free breast exams – until you have an alternative, please don’t feel like this is a “moral outrage” that SGK changed their mind on what seems to have been a knee-jerk decision in the first place…..

As a Christian – I think my first mission is NOT to try and clean up the mess that is our world.  Yes, I think much of it is messed up, and much of the garbage is considered by many today to be “righteous”.  Yes, my heart hurts because of the depravity I witness every day.  Some of it I often realize I myself blindly participate in.  But as a Christian – my calling is to “Go and make disciples”.  And my law is to “Love God with all that I am and all that I have”, and “Love my neighbor as myself”.  By taking joy in divisive political warfare, I am not doing either of these…..

Brothers and sisters, guard your heart.  Please, do not let things such as this, or the mulitude of other highly emotional issues that plague our political landscape, harden your heart.  Do not let them be your mission.  When we vote on the topic, and forget the PERSON, we’re not allowing Jesus to use us.

For the record – I don’t want to villify SGK.  I don’t want to villify Planned Parenthood.  I don’t want to villify those who take a stand against these organizations either.  I’m asking my brothers and sisters to consider right now, what opportunity we have to share the love of Christ.  Not by conforming to the patterns of this world.  But I do think we need to understand the world is not going to conform to God’s pattern either.  We need to love them AS THEY ARE, not as we think they should be, in order to draw them to Christ.  This may mean tough love.  In my opinion, hiding behind political parties and votes is not love of any kind…..

And for everyone who may still be reading – please do not be hardened towards SGK, no matter where your side is on this issue.  They made a mistake here.  They can, and will, still do good.  Let’s encourage them to do so, continue to support them, and put this behind us.

God bless you.

Leave a Reply

