Lamedh

Lamedh (Psalm 119:89-96)

Your word, O Lord, is eternal;
it stands firm in the heavens.
Your faithfulness continues through all generations;
you established the earth, and it endures.
Your laws endure to this day,
for all things serve you.
If your law had not been my delight,
I would have perished in my affliction.
I will never forget your precepts,
for by them you have preserved my life.
Save me, for I am yours;
I have sought out your precepts.
The wicked are waiting to destroy me,
but I will ponder your statutes.
To all perfection I see a limit;
but your commands are boundless.

As I read this passage, I am drawn to verse 92, “If your law had not been my delight,
I would have perished in my affliction.” This verse is one I cling to, and have for some time.  Not because I want to “follow rules” – but because the very word of God is what makes my heart beat.  As one’s heart beats when they find new love, or when they see a loved one they haven’t seen in ages – or some times as one who suddenly realizes they are in the presence of the living God…..  And his interest is in me and my affairs…..

Trembling…..

Overwhelmed….

Loved…..

The verse is a promise that while without you I certainly would be gone by now – with you NOTHING can separate me from your love.  I’ve fallen, many times.  I still do.  But I won’t let the devil use that to keep me down.  I am your child, and I know the truth.  It’s moved from my head to my heart, and I am thankful for that.  And for  you, Lord…..

Leave a Reply

