Tsadhe and Brad Pitt

Tsadhe (Psalm 119:137-144)

Righteous are you, O Lord,
and your laws are right.
The statutes you have laid down are righteous;
they are fully trustworthy.
My zeal wears me out,
for my enemies ignore your words.
Your promises have been thoroughly tested,
and your servant loves them.
Though I am lowly and despised,
I do not forget your precepts.
Your righteousness is everlasting
and your law is true.
Trouble and distress have come upon me,
but your commands are my delight.
Your statutes are forever right;
give me understanding that I may live.

I recently read a post, quoting Brad Pitt, where he questions the fairness of Christianity.  His comment was this:

“A big question to me was fariness.  If I’d grown up in some other religion, would I get the same shot at heaven as a Christian has?”

Yes.  From John 3:16, “For God so love the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whoever believes shall not perish, but have eternal life”

God loves the WORLD – no matter what your location, status, religion, sexual orientation, political views, fill-in-the-blank, are.  He loves you.  Because he loves you, he has given you the same chance everyone else was given.  The same gift, through Jesus Christ, his only begotten Son.

But you have to receive the gift.  You’ve been given that chance – and you’ll possibly be given it over and over, until you receive it – or until you reject it that last time before physical death.

Mr. Pitt also assumes that someone raised “Christian” is immediately saved.  We’ve sort of been told that, taught that in some circles.  But nowhere does it say we are saved by religion.  Salvation is a gift from God, through Jesus Christ – not something I can give to my kids, my siblings, my mama.  It’s a gift from God, that each of them must receive.

To be clear – It does mention in Acts 16, “Believe in the Lord Jesus, and you will be saved – you and your household.”  I will suggest that is taken out of context.  It was said by Paul and Silas, to the jailer they stopped from killing himself.  It was in response to his question, “what must I do to be saved”.  I believe – and many can argue I’m wrong (would not be the first or last time I’ve been wrong) – this was specific to this jailer.  That he would be saved, and God would use him to point his family to Jesus.  To point, to share – not to himself save them.  That is a very powerful statement – and I think God does use us in that capacity in our lives – but it’s not ME saving them, just sharing.

Lastly – Mr. Pitt assumes we don’t have a CHOICE.  Or at least one could presume he thinks this from his statement.  Jesus is mentioned in virtually every religion these days – be it jewish, muslim, atheist, you name it.  Everyone mentions him.  The notion that someone in some remote part of the world, never hearing of Jesus – well, then “maybe” we have a problem. But you assume that God wouldn’t be able to reveal himself to them.  Either he doesn’t exist – which then makes the whole point moot – or he does and stands by his promise that “whoever believes shall NOT perish, but WILL have eternal life”.

To sum up – we ALL are given the same chance.  Have you seen that in your life?  What have you done with it?  Are you willing to consider it?  I’d love to chat with you, if you have questions – certainly reach out to me if you like.

With love,

T.

Leave a Reply

