Qoph

Qoph (Psalm 119:145-152)

I call with all my heart; answer me, O Lord,
and I will obey your decrees.
I call out to you; save me
and I will keep your statutes.
I rise before dawn and cry for help;
I have put my hope in your word.
My eyes stay open through the watches of the night,
that I may meditate on your promises.
Hear my voice in accordance with your love;
preserve my life, O Lord, according to your laws.
Those who devise wicked schemes are near,
but they are far from your law.
Yet you are near, O Lord,
and all your commands are true.
Long ago I learned from your statutes
that you established them to last forever.

One of my favorite verses is Jeremiah 29:13 – “You will seek me and you will find me when you seek me with all your heart”

I thought of that, when reading this passage.  “I call with all my heart….”

What does that mean, “with all my heart”?

Can I do that???

I certainly don’t.  But I believe it is possible, or God would not give us a promise like this.

So HOW do I do that?  How, in this age of instant gratification, constant entertainment, constant distraction?

I call out to you; save me……

There is my answer.  Without you, Lord, I won’t keep your decrees.  I won’t marvel at your ways, your beauty, your majesty.  The world is very compelling, and WILL distract me, without your Holy Spirit to guide me, to convict me, to protect me.

Heck, I wouldn’t even know you, Lord, without you drawing me to you.

But WITH you – BECAUSE of you – I CAN seek you with all my heart.  Though I will stumble and fall – you lift me up.  So BECAUSE you save me, I will lift you up.  I will praise you.  I will seek you with all my heart….

Forever……

Leave a Reply

