CTRL-Z Song Review #5 – “Undo”

http://tedhtunes.bandcamp.com/track/undo

I don’t know how to explain this one.  A little bit country, a little bit rock and roll?

This song is based loosely on 1 Corinthians 6:9-11:

Do you not know that the wicked will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: Neither the sexually immoral nor idolaters nor adulterers nor male prostitutes nor homosexual offenders  nor thieves nor the greedy nor drunkards nor slanderers nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God.  And that is what some of you were. But you were washed, you were sanctified, you were justified in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and by the Spirit of our God.

As I read this passage, it’s alarming that pretty much every person I know, myself included, fits in to one or more of the descriptions of people who will not inherit the kingdom of God.  Thanks be to Christ, because of him that is who we WERE.  We are no longer our sinful selves, as we’ve been made new in Christ.  Praise God!

It’s easy to forget that sometimes, very good to be reminded.

Funny side-story, sort of.  I was listening to this song in my car, my son in the passenger seat.  I neglected to turn it off before the curse word (sorry – I did use the “s” word in this one), and Dylan said “Dad!  I thought you were a Christian!”.  Hahaha!  I told him I was sorry, that I sometimes let my sailor mouth out,  that I was trying to capture what I really felt about some of my past, heck even some of my present when I choose to live in my flesh.  His answer is classic – “You could have said ‘full of IT'”.  🙂  Maybe in the remix……..

Undo

A thief….
A liar…..
A swindler and a cheat…
That’s who I was….
That’s who I was

Idolater, adulterer…
A prostitute, a whore….
That’s who I was…..
That’s who I was

A hater and a slander…
A murderer…..
A murder…..
That’s who I was…..
That’s who I was….

A hypocrite, so full of s**t….
A two-face no good fake….
That’s who I was….
That’s who I was….

That’s who I was….
No more….

Praise the One who paid my debt
And raise this life up from the dead

I surrender all….
I surrender all….
All to thee, my precious savior…
I surrender alll…

Lyrics by Ted Hajnasiewicz, Kritian Stanfill, Keith Routledge.

You can download my new record, CTRL-Z, for FREE!  Find it here: http://tedhtunes.bandcamp.com/album/ctrl-z

God bless you!

T.

Leave a Reply

