Four Years Ago…..

I remember exactly what was going on four years ago on election day.  I was on my way to the nursing home my father was in, because his health was quickly failing.  It was just three days later he gave up his battle with cancer………

I did not vote last time around in the Presidential election.  It was not because I was opposed to voting.  It was not because I was opposed to any candidate.  It was simply the lowest priority for me at the time.  I probably could have gone in, probably should have gone in, on my way to the nursing home.  I just – didn’t care…….

I beg of you, friends, this year, please consider what REALLY matters.  I’m in no way suggesting anyone NOT vote.  I’m asking – begging – you to consider when you do your part, that you did just that.  Your part.  To have peace with that.  To remember how important this is – and what matters more than who ends up in office.

The notion that any one person, put in the position of President, can fix or ruin your life, is pure fantasy.  The reality is no human being can fix your life for you, nor would they want this pressure.  And they likely wouldn’t do it the way you envisioned anyway….. 

The reality is, Jesus already did everything you need, over 2000 years ago.  He made a way for us to be restored, when we hated him.  He gave life to us, when we were dead in our sins.  He’s provided a way for you to have joy – real, eternal joy, that can only be gained through relationship with him.  He is the Wonderful Counselor, the Everlasting Father, the Prince of Peace.  The Beginning and the End.  He is the comforter.  He is the lover of your soul.  He numbers the hairs on your head.  He IS the way, the truth, the light.  He IS everything you need, now and always….

The question is, do you want it?

The reality is, what YOU can do for others should always matter more than what one man can do for you.  Everyone knows this famous statement, made by President Kennedy:

“And so, my fellow Americans, ask not what your country can do for you.  Ask what you can do for your country.”

Do we do anything with that?  Do we put others’ needs before our wants? 

The reality is, people in our lives matter more than politics.  Simple as that.  Issues that we are voting on, platforms we are voting on.  Political parties we are passionately associating ourselves with.  If you really are driven politically, or by some cause, wonderful!  Get involved!  Speak out!  All that is good.  I ask you to consider however whether you are putting the cause  before the person.  If you are considering anyone who has different views than you as less than human, I would ask you to seriously consider that you might be putting the cause before the person…..

That is not what was going on for me four years ago.  The people I loved most were in the same boat, rallying around me and my family.  Around my father, as he spent his last days with us.  As we wait for him to pass.  as we prayed, read the bible, cried, laughed, cried some more, slept little, prayed more, cried more….. 

As we mourned his passing……  Juggling mixed emotions – joyful hope, knowing God took are of it and my father is in heaven even now rejoicing and praising the One True God!  that I’ll see him again, all things considered, very soon – mixed with an empty, painful loss, knowing my father won’t be there to answer the phone, telling his dumb jokes that probably only I thought were funny (I tell dumb jokes that only I think are funny too), being a tremendous example, at least to me, of how to be a loving husband who puts the needs of his wife and family before his wants.   

Even now, that matters so much more to me than who’s going to win November 6th….. 

And God willing, I’m going to vote this year!  However on November 7th, the last thing I am going to care about is who won……

Leave a Reply

