Not What I Will….

He went a little farther, and fell on the ground, and prayed that if it were possible, the hour might pass from Him.  And He said, “Abba, Father, all things are possible for You. Take this cup away from Me; nevertheless, not what I will, but what You will.”  (Mark 14:35-36)

Yesterday I talked about being fearless, what that looks like in our lives by the power of the Holy Spirit, how Jesus was fearless and obedient.

As I read through the accounts of his time in the garden of Gethsemane, it’s more than clear that he would have certainly preferred a different approach…..  Yet he moved forward, because “not what I will, but what you will”.

When you read the passage above, what do you think?  How does it compare to your prayers?  If you are like me, you might pray something similar.  “God, I know you can do this – but just in case, I’ll give you an out”.  That sort of doubting prayer.

Or maybe “God, I know you could fix this.  Why haven’t you???”.  Again, doubting.  Also accusing God, or blaming him for our afflictions.

Or “Not my will, God, but – well to be honest, yeah my will”.  You know when we pray “in obedience to God’s will”, but fully intend to do what we please……

None of those prayers what reflect Jesus is saying.  He already knows what he is called to endure – for us.  He’s stating that while he doesn’t want this cup, he will drink it to fulfill the will of the Father.  Obedience.  He knows this is the only way to restore his children to himself.  In the moment, he lays aside his flesh, his desires, for the good of all and the glory of God…..

That is my prayer today.  “Lord, not what I will, but what you will”.  Lord, help me to stand by that.  Thank you for your grace which gives me the power to stand by that.

Leave a Reply

