Why The Stinking Tree???

I remember a very sweet time with my son Dylan, reading in Genesis, the story of the fall.  Now the story of the fall isn’t so sweet, but Dylan’s response was:  “Stupid Adam, screwed it all up for us”.  Haha – I love it!

For me, my burning question has always been, “Why did God put the tree there, where they would be tempted???”.  I mean, I don’t want to question God, and that isn’t my intent.  But this question has come up for me many times.

Recently, God revealed to me that my question itself is rebellious.  No surprise – and most would probably just say, “Duh”.  But this was really something I had never considered – when I am asking that question I’m not trusting that God’s ways are higher than my ways.   And I’m kinda blaming him for their temptation and fall into sin.  God never tempts us – ever.

I’m reminded of this passage in James:

Let no one say when he is tempted, “I am tempted by God”; for God cannot be tempted by evil, nor does He Himself tempt anyone.  But each one is tempted when he is drawn away by his own desires and enticed.

And I’m reminded that my questioning God for placing the tree where he did (Or even its existence) is like questioning or blaming God for my own sinful nature.  He did not give us our sinful nature.  He gave us free will.  Something perfect, without flaw.  We contaminated it.  Don’t believe me?  Jesus has free will too…..

So I don’t think I will ask that question anymore.  🙂  But I did find this interesting post, which does help answer my question a bit.  Funny how God brings me to it, after I’ve laid it down….

http://christianthought.hbu.edu/2012/10/08/why-did-god-create-the-tree-of-the-knowledge-of-good-and-evil/

Leave a Reply

