Ain’t Gonna Hide No More Review #8 – I Love You

Ain't Gonna Hide No Morehttp://tedhtunes.bandcamp.com/track/i-love-you

For I am not ashamed of the Gospel, for it is the power of God, for salvation to everyone who believes.
Romans 1:16

There is truth in that one statement.  The Gospel is the power from God  for us to be saved.

There is also a lie in that statement, when I sometimes speak it – “I am not ashamed of the Gospel”.

I’m NOT ashamed of the Gospel.  I know how the Lord saved me through his Son, Jesus Christ – and what he saved me from.  Because he loves me….

I know how he loves me.  I know how I love him, because he loved me first….  Oh, how he loves me….

I do share this good news with others, whenever I can.  If you only knew….

Yet I often cower, when presented with the opportunity to share…  Fear of man, sadly, overwhelms the fear of the Lord.

Let me re-phrase that.  Unhealthy fear (terror) of man, sadly, overwhelms my healthy fear (reverence, respect, love) of the Lord.

But God is good, faithful, loving, forgiving.

And convicting.

And the righteous man falls seven times, but gets back up again.  This means that I may fall, but I’m not down.  The devil may make me cower from time to time.  But I have a righteous, loving Lord, who picks me up, encourages me, gets me on my feet, back into the battle.  God is so good….

Sorta makes me think of a scene in Band of Brothers, where Dick Winters is leading his troops into battle.  He’s up yelling at them to move forward, because he knows if they stay where they are they will die.  He is UP, putting himself at risk, encouraging his men.

A sinful, imperfect man, Dick Winters, did this for his men.  Because he loved them.

How much more did our perfect, loving Father do so by sending his Son to die in our place?  How much more did our perfect, loving Jesus do so in being obedient to the cross?

And how much more does our perfect, loving Holy Spirit do this for us?

So – I Ain’t Gonna Hide No More.  I am not ashamed of the Gospel.  I will share it until my dying day, when I am home with Him…

Leave a Reply

