What Are You Doing Over There???

“So what are you doing over there?”

We have yet to get our agenda, for our trip to Dominican Republic.  I will say, that is an exercise in patience and trust, for some of us on the team.  Where are we staying?  What will we be doing?  I don’t know.  And – I’m ok with that.  🙂

Our primary and secondary purpose on this trip are:

1.  To share the gospel of Jesus Christ

2.  To serve our brothers and sisters in the local church, in any way that benefits them and glorifies God

Everything else we may or may not do – from running a Vacation Bible School, to visiting college campuses, hospitals, leprosy colonies, to helping with the local church building – any of it – will fit into one of the top two categories.

And what else is there?  Why go, if we don’t go with the intent to share the gospel and glorify the Lord?  Please don’t misunderstand me – I don’t want to imply that doctors, people who bring food, clothing, other tangible items people desperately need, are not valid missionaries.  Quite the contrary.  What I am suggesting however, is that at the core, as a Christian, no matter what I do, if I am not doing it out of love – REAL love, that comes from Christ – it’s a clanging gong.

If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal.  If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing.  If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing. (1 Corinthians 13:1-3)

So – what else is there?

In my next post, I’ll get in to the method we plan to use to share the gospel.  it’s pretty simple, and very cool.  Nothing fancy, or “hip” or “cutting edge”.  If you would oblige, I’ll actually run through it with you in my next post, as if you were the person I was sharing with.  🙂

Love,

Ted and Stella

Leave a Reply

