This Is How We Are Sharing the Gospel…

While in the DR, Stella and I, and our group of 16 people, plus interpreters, will be sharing the Gospel of Jesus Christ with this cool method.

https://www.formstack.com/forms/TTR-online_training

I’ll break it down for you.  We will approach people in this manner.  For fun, how about you, dear reader, play the part of “person”, the one we approach.  I’ll play “me”, so imagine my voice as you read my part.  Then read your part aloud.  Don’t worry, nobody is watching.  And even if they are – they won’t think you are weird…

Me:  Hello, my name is Ted, and this is Stella (or whomever I am paired with).  What is your name?

Person: Hello Ted and Stella (or whomever you are paired with)!  My name is “Person”.  Nice to meet you!

Me: And you as well!  It’s great to meet a new friend here in the Dominican Republic!

Person: Wow, that is so very kind of you!  (Or beat it!  who knows?)

Me: Dear new friend “Person”, God sent me here from North America to pray for you.  How can I pray for you?

Person:  Wow.  That is wonderful!  (Or beat it!   Who knows?).  I could use prayer for (fill in the blanks)

I will then pray for them, with them.  I then have a cool bracelet to offer them, as a gift.

bracelet

It’s nothing huge.  Just a bracelet.  But it has cool colors, and scripture references on it.

Me:  What do you notice about the bracelet?

Person:  It has cool colors.  And what is “Rom”???

Me:  This bracelet has bible verses on it that reveal the truth and promise of the good news of Jesus Christ.  Mind if I share with you?

Person:  Sure, that sounds great!  (Or beat it!  Who knows?)

At this point I will show them a cool New Testament bible I have, that has color coded tabs that match the cool bracelet.  I will then direct them to the first verse, in yellow, Romans 3:23, and ask them to read it aloud.

Person: For all have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God

Me:  What does that mean to you?

Person:  Well, it seems to say that all of humanity has sinned.  And that we all do not match up to God’s standards?

Me:  Nicely done.  That is hard news to hear, I know.  How do you feel about that?

Person:  Not great/I don’t believe it/I feel guilty/beat it!

Me:  Yeah, I understand that guilt.  The next verse can be difficult as well.  Can you read the next one in black?  (Romans 6:23)

Person: For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord

Me:  What does that mean to you?

Person:  The wages of sin is death?  Ouch…..

Me:  Yes, just one sin earns us death.  And we have established we are all sinners.  Just one sin, even the smallest of sins, is enough to separate us from God – spiritual death.  BUT – the good news is that God has given us a FREE gift of eternal life through His Son Jesus Christ.  Now – this is a gift.  But is it for everyone?

Person:  Well, I would like to think so yes!  (Or beat it!  Who knows?)

Me:  Not necessarily.  It’s a GIFT.  But just like the bracelet I gave you, you must RECEIVE this gift for it to be yours.  Make sense?

Person:  Yes it does!

Me:  Great!  How about we move on to the next verse, in red?  (Romans 5:8)

Person:  But God demonstrated His love for us in this:  When were still sinners, Christ died for us

Me: What does that mean to you?

Person: Hmmm.  Jesus died for us when we were still sinners?

Me: Exactly!  You see, we have all sinned.  We have all separated ourselves from God through our sin.  BUT, we see how His free gift plays out here!  Again – FREE GIFT.  He sent His Son to die in our place!  THIS is how He gives us this gift of eternal life!  Make sense?

Person: I think so?  Not sure I understand how this is possible?  Don’t I have to do something to earn this?

Me:  No, you don’t.  And in fact – you can’t.  How about we move on to the next one, in blue (Ephesians 2:8-9)?

Person: For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith – and this not of yourself.  It is a free gift from God – not by works, so that no one can boast

Me: What does that mean to you?

Person: I can’t earn this?  It says fee gift again

Yep:  Yep!  It’s by God’s grace that He saves us.  A free gift.  Remember, we talked about having to receive the gift?

Person: Yes!

Me: Yes!

Person: YES YES!  But HOW do I receive this gift???

Me: Glad you asked, my dear friend “Person”.  Would you be so kind as to read the next verse in green (Romans 10:9-10)?

Person: If you confess with your mouth, Jesus Christ is Lord, and believe in your heart God raised from the dead, you will be saved.  For it is with the heart one believes and is justified, and it is with the mouth one confesses and is saved

Me: What does that mean to you?

Person: If I believe it in my heart, and say it with my mouth, I am saved!

Me: Believe what?

Person: That Jesus Christ is Lord!

Me: Well – do you?

Person: Yes!

Me: YES!

Person: YES!  YES!  YES!!!

Me: Praise the Lord!  While there is no “magic bullet” prayer that saves you, would you like to pray to God, in your own words, asking Him in to your heart?

At this time the person may pray, or ask for help in praying, or tell me to beat it.  Who knows?  But the bottom line is it is THEIRS to do, and the Lord’s will to save.  Not ours.  We can’t “convince” anyone of anything.  We are not interested in “making converts”.  We are simply sharing this good news of Jesus Christ, that can change a person’s life eternally.  We pray for a ripe harvest, if it is the Lord’s will.  And we trust God is in control.  And we are willing to be His instruments, to use as He sees fit.

So now tell me – what does all of this mean to you?

One thought on “This Is How We Are Sharing the Gospel…

  1. Pingback: American Sniper and the Gospel… And YOU… | tedhtunes

Leave a Reply

