An Honest Witness…

 

Official - I Must Become Less 5

All Eyes Watching

An honest witness tells the truth,
    but a false witness tells lies
Proverbs 12:17

“In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven”
Matthew 5:16

“All Eyes Watching” started with a riff.  It’s a riff I wrote a few years ago.  I heard the Rolling Stones when I played it.  Probably doesn’t sound anything like them, but that’s what I heard in my head.

Anyway, I put it out on the interwebs, to solicit help from friends in writing a song.  My buddy Alex Sutherland came up with a cool song structure – verse, chorus, bridge, much of the lyrics – I just finished off the lyrics (I think I wrote the second verse, and tweaked some words here and there).  Nathan and Joan Boyer also added to the song a bit, changing some of the lyric that had a more “negative” slant.  It is a bit of a “negative” song, but doesn’t need to be.

Here is the thing – and I can really relate to Alex in this – he wrote this about the struggle with following Christ, in our flesh, and how we can sometimes be a horrible witness.  It’s a struggle I’ll bet most every Christian struggles with at some time. The devil will tell you, “You screwed that one up, nobody would listen to you….”.  And really, the first part is true often.  I did screw it up.  But the second part?  It’s not ME, they are listening to.  It’s not ME that is the light.  It’s Christ!  So – who cares if I screwed up?  It’s His work in my life, and I pray THAT is what shines through.  Not my junk, but instead my “good deeds” that will glorify my Father in heaven.

I want so badly to be a good, honest witness.  I can often strive so hard to be “honest”, in a self-deprecating way.  I can be very hard on myself.  I was encouraged just last week by a brother in this area.  If God is working in and through my life – LET HIM!  Let the Holy Spirit fan into flame.  Don’t quench Him.  Just – LET HIM.

So – this song, really, is about that.  Yes, the world is watching.  Yes, I will mess up.  Yes, the devil will be right there to remind me.  But YES, so is the Lord, reminding me that it’s HIM in me that will shine.  Praise God, that He would use, and more important CHOOSE a wretched sinner like me…

All Eyes Watching

i must become less…

 

Leave a Reply

