Whom Have I In Heaven But You?

Official - I Must Become Less 5

Yet I Belong

Then I realized that my heart was bitter,
    and I was all torn up inside.
 I was so foolish and ignorant—
    I must have seemed like a senseless animal to you.
 Yet I still belong to you;
    you hold my right hand.
 You guide me with your counsel,
    leading me to a glorious destiny.
 Whom have I in heaven but you?
    I desire you more than anything on earth.
 My health may fail, and my spirit may grow weak,
    but God remains the strength of my heart;
    he is mine forever
(Psalm 73:21-26)

I wrote this song for a friend of mine, who has been struggling with the notion that “maybe I don’t matter”.  Now – this psalm is more a man coming to terms with the fact that his heart is so hard to those who are lost – those who don’t know the Lord.  It’s a beautiful picture of how God will humble us, and give us grace in that.

However, in this portion, we see how the psalmist is broken by his bitterness.  Yet he knows he belongs to the Lord.  A reminder I need myself, as does my dear brother.  As do possibly YOU.  We do well to remember that if we are His, we can never NOT be His.  And His is cherished beyond our comprehension.  Yes, I am weak and weary…  Yet I belong to You…

Thank You Jesus…

Written by Ted Hajnasiewicz, Nathan Boyer, Joan Boyer

Ted Hajnasiewicz: lead vocals, lead and rhythm guitars, acoustic guitar, bass guitar, drum loops, church organ, tambourine
Elise Magalis: backing vocals

Yet I Belong

i must become less…

 

Leave a Reply

