For I Am Convinced…

Official - I Must Become Less 5

Truth Is…

for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God,  and all are justified freely by his grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus (Romans 3:23-24)

For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord (Romans 6:23)

For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers,  neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord (Romans 8:38-39)

Here, we have another of my re-records.  You can hear the original version here , and you can read my original post on the song here .

So a big change in this song was the entire first verse.  As you can see from the original, I was “trying” to get across the thought that we condemn ourselves when we reject Christ.  I still hold to this belief (though we should be careful to point out I am not suggesting God doesn’t condemn, or have the power, authority, sovereignty to condemn – that in itself is a conversation I don’t think I’m smart enough to get out in words here.  I’d rather talk about it, and go to scripture over it).

Thing is, my dear friends Nathan and Joan lovingly pointed out how it comes off as questionable, from a theological perspective.  For the reasons my circular talk above.  I just am not getting it across as it is in my head and heart.  So – I scrapped it, and put in more of a Gospel truth.  There is no one good but God.  We try to make ourselves good, justify ourselves, compare ourselves to someone “worse” than us.  But we are NOT good in our flesh.

But the truth is…  The Gospel is…  That HE took on our sin – all of it…  For me…  For YOU…  That you might be His goodness…  And if you are in Christ, NOTHING can separate you from Him.  NOTHING…  Praise God…

I’m struck by a word from my friend Tom, about Romans 8:14 – For those who are led by the Spirit of God are the children of God.

Tom’s point is this:  The words “being led”, in Greek, have three characters:

1.  “Being led”, or “led”, is PRESENT TENSE.  It’s not “was led”, or “will be led”.  It’s happening NOW

2.  “Being led”, or “led”, is PASSIVE.  It’s not ourselves leading ourselves.  It’s not our doing.  It’s HIS doing…

3.  “Being led”, or “led”, is INDICITIVE.  It’s HAPPENING.  We can’t stop it.  If you are in Christ, you ARE being led by the Holy Spirit.

What profound truth!  What encouragement!  If God is at work in your life, He is at work in your life!  And nothing can change that!  Woah…

So – I recorded this song with my brother Seth on drums.  Laid down most everything else myself, then had some dear friends from church add gang vocals.  This is one of there songs where they sang their parts, after hearing me sing it, and NOTHING else.  They sang from Nathan’s and my directing, without a track to follow.  They did pretty amazing, if you ask me!

Ted Hajnasiewicz:  lead and backing vocals, lead and rhythm guitars, baritone guitar, bass guitar, percussion
Seth Butz: drums
Gang vocals by:  Susie Roalstad, Angela Glum, Joan Boyer, Ellie Petersen, Grace Bare, Elise Magalis, Drew Petersen

Truth Is…

i must become less…

Leave a Reply

