I’m A Child Of the Living God…

Official - I Must Become Less 5

Because You Took My Sin…

For those who are led by the Spirit of God are the children of God (Romans 8:14)

So in Christ Jesus you are all children of God through faith (Galatians 3:26)

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here! (2 Corinthians 5:17)

In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of sins, in accordance with the riches of God’s grace (Ephesians 1:7)

And God raised us up with Christ and seated us with him in the heavenly realms in Christ Jesus (Ephesians 2:6)

God made him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God (2 Corinthians 5:21)

 

DO YOU BELIEVE THIS???

If you are in Christ, and you don’t believe this – YOU NEED TO.  I NEED TO…

Not because we in ourselves are worthy, or have earned it.  Because HE is worthy, and has DONE it.  Our identity is IN CHRIST.  Knowing this will help us to walk in this.  It’s not a manner of “believing so that it is so”, it’s “believing BECAUSE IT IS SO”.  The Lord says so, who am I to doubt Him???

I wrote this song a few years back, and have always wanted to do something with it.  I put out a recording of it from my iPhone, you can find that here.  You can see the song structure hasn’t changed much from this original first draft.

But I always thought of this song in the sense of the “epic jam band” theme from a 70’s rock band.  With super cool guitar solos, something that would move you musically, as it hopefully does lyrically.  So I asked my dear friend Derek Kosch, who is a guitar genius in my opinion, to lend some guitar work to this song.

He didn’t.  🙂  But he did add some awesome B3 and Mellotron parts, and suggested a chord variance at one point, which helped to deconstruct this song a bit, shake it up a bit.  Derek’s contributions took this song to a whole new level for me.  I love what he did, and he planted a seed in my head with other songs, both on this project and on the next.  I am excited for what I am able to do musically with the tools I have.  I’m also excited that friends like Derek, Seth (drums), and so many others, were willing to help me out.  I am so pleased with that they did with my little songs.

Oh – and my lovely wife lends her vocal debut on this one!  She’s not thrilled, but I love what she did.  It’s me and her, actually, doing the “oh-oh-oh” parts in the “My sin, Your righteousness” lines.  It’s EXACTLY what I had in my head, she NAILED IT!  🙂

So – as you listen to this, please consider the verses above.  And others like it.  This is NOT a morale booster, or a self-help program.  This is CHRIST, and HIS work in and through us.  He must increase, we must decrease…

Written by Ted Hajnasiewicz and Derek Kosch

Ted Hajnasiewicz:  lead vocals, backing vocals, lead and rhythm guitars, bass guitar
Phyliss Hajnasiewicz:  backing vocals
Derek Kosch:  Hammond B3, mellotron
Seth Butz:  drums

Because You Took My Sin…

i must become less…

Leave a Reply

