To This End I Labor…

Official - I Must Become Less 5

Contender (the GLORY of the LORD!)

For I am already being poured out like a drink offering, and the time for my departure is near.  I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.  Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day—and not only to me, but also to all who have longed for his appearing (2 Timothy 4:6-8)

I would love to be able to say this about myself, as Paul does.  Partly, because I’m tired and lazy, and would love to be finished.  🙂  Partly though because I do not believe I measure up to someone like Paul.  Not even close.

But I shouldn’t be comparing myself to him.  or anyone.  Paul didn’t say these words, or any of his words, to boast.  This was an encouragement to Timothy, to FINISH WELL.  I would do well to take heed myself.

I wrote this song a few years back, after meeting a guy who told me, “You need to contend for the glory of the Lord”.  He was retelling to me the story of Elisha and the Shunammite woman (Read 2 Kings 4).  This woman’s son died, and she would not stop until she came before the man of God (Elisha).  The guy told me, “That is how you need to be when seeking the Lord.  You don’t stop until you are before HIM.  You must CONTEND FOR THE GLORY OF THE LORD!”

So I went home and watched Rocky.  Sounds odd.  🙂  But all I could think about was how Rocky never gave up.  He got knocked down, over and over and over, but he GOT UP.

The Righteous man falls seven times, but gets back up again… (Proverbs 24:16)

I fall over and over.  But in Christ, I get back up again.  I am a contender, for the Glory of the Lord…

I have an older version of this song, which you can find here .  For this one, my buddy Seth played drums, Elise and Joan helped with backing vocals, and many of my dear brothers and sisters from church lent the harmonies in the bridge, “I can do all things through Him who gives me strength”.  It was so cool, and I love what they added to the song!

I’ll leave you with a link to this old blog post, about contending for the glory of the Lord.  God bless you, and keep you.

T.

Written by Ted Hajnasiewicz, Nathan Boyer, Joan Boyer.

Ted Hajnasiewicz:   lead and backing vocals; lead and rhythm guitars, acoustic guitar, bass guitar
Elise Magalis:  backing vocals
Joan Boyer:  backing vocals
Seth Butz:  drums
Group vocals by Susie Roalstad, Angela Glum, Joan Boyer, Ellie Petersen, Grace Bare, Elise Magalis, Drew Petersen

Contender (the GLORY of the LORD!)

i must become less…

Leave a Reply

