My First Love…

Official - I Must Become Less 5

Oh Lord You’re Beautiful / You Have Me

Search me, God, and know my heart;
    test me and know my anxious thoughts.
See if there is any offensive way in me,
    and lead me in the way everlasting
Psalm 139:23-24

I love this song…  Or really – these songs…

I’ll give you a little tidbit about each, to explain why I closed my new record with covers.

Oh Lord You’re Beautiful is a Keith Greene song.  I actually covered this song some six years ago, you can find it here .   I first heard the song about six years ago.  I met this guy who loved my voice and my worship, and said I should check out Keith Greene, that I reminded him of Keith.  Well – I don’t see it…  That guy was immensely talented, and his songs were so deep and rich, and his love for the Lord is evident in all of them.  And – he had a killer voice.  I don’t see any of those characteristics in me.  But hey – whatevs.  🙂  I fell in love with Keith Green’s music, and this song in particular.  So I sort of “Ted’ed” it.

A similar story with the Gungor song, “You Have Me”.  A dear brother approached me and said, “You should do this song, I hear you every time I hear it”.  Again – I don’t hear it.  But loved it.  BUT – this song was a bit out of my range, and musically, I just was not happy with how I could play it.  BUT – I somehow kept playing and singing the ending of the song, and praying and praising God with those words.  “You have my heart completely…”.

It eventually became the ending of my rendition of the Keith Greene song.  So – why not put them on the record?  Pure.  Simple.  Lovely.

I had my dear friends help me sing out the Gungor part.  I love it.  It’s so beautiful.  I am so blessed….

So – this is my record.  This is what God gave me, and I give it back as best I can.  I truly hope the Lord sees this as my best, not my leftovers.  I trust he’s pleased, not because I’m talented, not because I have some gift to give HIM – but because HE is pleased to give ME this gift.  What a joy it is to sing for my king…

“Oh Lord You’re Beautiful” Written by Keith Greene
“You Have Me” Written by Brad Waller, Lisa Gungor, Michael Gungor

Ted Hajnasiewicz: lead vocals, acoustic and electric guitars, mandolin
Group vocals by Susie Roalstad, Angela Glum, Joan Boyer, Ellie Petersen, Grace Bare, Elise Magalis, Drew Petersen

Oh Lord You’re Beautiful/ You Have Me

i must become less…

Leave a Reply

