Heavy Is the Heart…

Wedding Coat Cover

Heavy Is the Heart

This is the second song from my new EP titled “Wedding Coat” – a project I put together and am selling to raise funds for marriage counseling, for some couple or couples I may never meet.  🙂  You can read about it here:

Wedding Coat Campaign

Know the Truth Ministries

So this song, “Heavy Is the Heart”, I came up with the title some time ago.  I never heard that saying, “Heavy is the head that wears the crown”.  Kinda cool.  I thought, “Well, heavy is the HEART that wears the crown – the heart of Christ”.  More fitting, in my mind, as His heart breaks for those who are lost, who reject Him.

The song itself, I wrote for and about a dear friend of mine, who through the process of his marriage crumbling, came to know Jesus Christ.  Funny, how God uses the worst things in life to draw us to Him…

The Lord is close to the brokenhearted
    and saves those who are crushed in spirit

Psalm 34:18

My wife says this sounds like a Rick Springfield song.  I don’t know about that – maybe a b-side or a demo of his?  I think Mr. Springfield is, or was (probably still is, I don’t know), quite talented, able to write very cool catchy songs.

So the theme of the song is more somber than the music.  But when you consider that knowing the love of Christ, which is eternal, causes all other pain to fade to the distance, maybe this shouldn’t be so somber?  I don’t know.  My point doesn’t take away the pain he is in now, the pain we still feel while in the flesh.  God, our great comforter, knows this more than we do.  He is so faithful, and I see Him working in my friend’s life, even though something so sucky, icky and painful…

As I mentioned in the other post, I am selling it to raise money for marriage counseling.  Please prayerfully consider giving to this cause, to save maybe just ONE marriage.  You can buy my music here:

Wedding Coat EP

My Praise

Or, if you like, you can donate directly to the ministry here:

https://northlandcounseling.us/Donate.html

I have a goal to raise $1000, and I will match that dollar for dollar.  As of today, we are at $524, counting my match.  Almost a quarter the way!  Will you help me obtain this goal?

I love you!

T.

Heavy Is the Heart

Smoky truck stop, cold and stale
My eyes are weary, my heart is impaled
What can I do? I’ve nowhere to stand
She found her comfort in the arms of another man

You promise me that your burden is light
Your yoke is easy, I need that tonight
My heart is broken, the weight is immense
Can’t let it go, just take it, just take it…

But heavy is the heart that wears the crown
His kindness calls, “Lay your burdens down”
Steady is the hand that guides me home
His name is love

That’s well and good, my heart is yours
That don’t bring her back to me, that don’t change her course
Though my life seems beyond repair
You promise “paradise” – take me there…

Heavy is the heart that wears the crown
His kindness calls, “Lay your burdens down”
Steady is the hand that guides me home
His name is love

It ain’t supposed to be, it ain’t supposed to be this way…

Heavy is the heart that wears the crown
His kindness calls, “Lay your burdens down”
Steady is the hand that guides me home
His name is love

Leave a Reply

