Girl You’re Gonna Fall…

Wedding Coat Cover

Girl You’re Gonna Fall

This is the third song from my new EP titled “Wedding Coat” – a project I put together and am selling to raise funds for marriage counseling, for some couple or couples I may never meet.  🙂  You can read about it here:

Wedding Coat Campaign

Know the Truth Ministries

I wrote the lyrics to this song, “Girl You’re Gonna Fall” back in like 1992.  It was originally about a girl we knew, sweetest girl, who found her identity in a guy.  To the point where she completely compromised herself.  Sad.  Common.  But sad…

So – why does it fit into this record?  Well, I was thinking about this song, and how we often do just that, when we want something new, something better than what we have.  I did that, when I ended my marriage.  I was seeking the high of “new”.

And I know of people who have done that, or are doing that…  “If only you knew”, is all I can say.  If only you knew what you have.  Perfect?  Far from it.  Could it be better?  Yes.  Do you deserve better?  Well, that depends on who you ask.  If you ask the world – YES.  If you ask me – no.  But you can be assured of better, in Jesus Christ.

See, I think that is the key ingredient missing in any failed marriage.  JESUS.  Yes, there are Christians who get divorced…  Yes, there are occasions where someone was left behind, and they had no choice in the matter.  Yes, there are occasions where someone is an adulterous and unrepentant.  Yes, even if someone is at risk of harm or death – that all makes sense.  But most divorces – Christian or not –  are for selfish gain.  And if only you knew what you lose…  What everyone loses…

And more important – if you only knew what you can HAVE in Jesus Christ!  This is not some simple “say this prayer, check this box” thing.  This is the God of the universe seeking YOU!  Yes, even you, who killed your marriage.  Even you who the world says are “bound for hell” because of it.  I say – really, we are all bound for hell.  And it’s because of Christ that we are redeemed!  I care more about your salvation in Christ, than I ever will in your marriage.  THAT is the reason I wanted to do this project – to reflect Jesus to you, to SHOW Christ to you, in words and action.  To show you His love, even if others say you don’t deserve it.  I probably can’t change your mind about your marriage?  But if I can show you Christ, maybe He can…

So I re-wrote this song, hoping the meaning comes across.  I completely re-wrote the music to these words.

If this song is about you – please don’t be offended.  If this is about you – please know that I love you.  I’ll love you even if you decide to go through with it.  But I say this because I love you – if only you knew…

 

I love you…

T.

Girl You’re Gonna Fall

So many times
Different conversations
You don’t even know yourself
You want so bad
Just to be happy
Then why do you choose to live in hell?
And after it all
Where will you be standing?
Are you better off alone?
Well don’t try so hard
To make somebody love you
Or girl you’re gonna fall
Girl you’re gonna fall

Sometimes he makes you cry
You’ll get by
Sometimes you wonder why
You’ll get by

Broken hearts mend
Lucky for you
We both know you’ve had your share
Caught in the middle
Run yourself in circles
Girl you’re runnin’ nowhere
Girl you’re runnin’ nowwhere

Sometimes he makes you cry
You’ll get by
Sometimes you wonder why
You’ll get by

After it’s over
Where will you be standing?
Are you better off alone?
Don’t try so hard
To make somebody love you
Or girl you’re gonna fall
Girl you’re gonna fall
Girl you’re gonna fall…

Leave a Reply

