The Vow

Wedding Coat Cover

The Vow

This is the fifth song from my new EP titled “Wedding Coat” – a project I put together and am selling to raise funds for marriage counseling, for some couple or couples I may never meet.  🙂  You can read about it here:

Wedding Coat Campaign

Know the Truth Ministries

I asked a dear friend, Katianna Carlon, to sing on this, as this song is written with two perspectives.  Verse one is the disenchanted husband speaking, Verse two, the wife.  I thought it might be odd to sing that part myself, so I wanted a female voice to do so.  Katianna nailed it!  She’s an amazing singer, really.  I did another song with her on the “My Praise” record, and hope to be able to do more in the future.

So this song – another dear friend of mine actually wrote the first couple lines, some twenty plus years ago.  They rang in my head, as I was contemplating this project.  He gave me permission to use them, so I did. Then the idea of trying to capture the perspectives of the persons involved in a struggling, failing, or failed marriage came about.  Both the bride and the groom have a story. They had a story before they met.  They have a story together as a married couple.  And sadly, so often they have separate stories as husband and wife.  Truth is, we are either going to grow together as a husband and wife, or we are going to grow apart.  There is no standing still…

With the people I’ve been in contact with, going through a divorce, when they tell me their story – they always have a side, a perspective.  A perspective that most often is not wrong.  They lived it, what they are retelling is not made up.  And really, by the world’s standards, they probably have a “right” to get divorced, or at least be OK with it.  I do think in most cases of divorce, the marriage was kinda over before the words “I want a divorce” were uttered.  But I would argue, that doesn’t make it OK to seek or approve of divorce…  We would do well to remember that, when emotions are running high…

So – this is a wake-up call, to those who are still married.  Whether happily or not.  SEEK your wife.  SEEK your husband.  Cultivate that garden!  Remember that vow you made, so long (or not so long) ago?  Yeah – remember it…

I know most of you in a failed or failing marriage, you have TRIED.  I know…  At the risk of offending you, and without knowing every possible story – I’m just asking you, Try again…

As I mentioned in the other posts, I am selling this record to raise money for marriage counseling.  Please prayerfully consider giving to this cause, to save maybe just ONE marriage.  You can buy my music here:

Wedding Coat EP

My Praise

Or, if you like, you can donate directly to the ministry here:

https://northlandcounseling.us/Donate.html

I have a goal to raise $1000, and I will match that dollar for dollar.  As of today, we are at $712, counting my match.  Almost a quarter the way!  Will you help me obtain this goal?

I love you!

T.

The Vow

Vase of broken flowers
Lies dead on the floor
When we fought for hours
Still you wanted more
You never hear me…
You never hear me…

Where is the woman that I knew
There was life inside of you
Where is the woman that I loved
When I was young

Heart in broken pieces
Like every promise you made
All my life is depleted
And I can’t even feel the pain
You never show me love…
You never show me love…

Where is the man that I once knew
There was love inside of you
Where is the man that I vowed to
Love to the end

I don’t dream of you no more
I don’t recall what life what like before
Show me you need me…
Show me you need me…
Show me you need me…
I’m holding on by a thread…

Where is the heart we built together
Ripped apart, the world has plundered
Where are you now?
I miss the one…
Where are you now, I miss the one
Who never let me go
Never let me go…
Never let me go…

Vase of broken flowers
Lies dead on the floor
Please, love, let’s talk for hours
I’ll pick up the pieces
I promise I’ll give you more…

Leave a Reply

