I Know How Frail I Am….

My Praise Cover 4

Measure Of A Man (Frail)

Another song off my record, “My Praise” – the second of two projects I put together and am selling to raise funds for marriage counseling, for some couple or couples I may never meet.  🙂  You can read about it here:

Wedding Coat Campaign

Know the Truth Ministries

This song was born from a couple older songs.  The riff in the beginning part was from a song I wrote some 10-12 years ago.  The ending part, from a dear friend of mine Bryan Briggs, a song he wrote.  I blended the two, and made this out of it.

This song is about life.  And death…  My father in law passed away last summer.  It was awful, painful.  Expected, yet sudden.  He was a man who was dearly loved, by many.  He was a man who will be remembered fondly, for generations.

Yet, as my brother in law said in tears, “We put him in the dirt, and nobody will remember him”.  All that man did, for his wife, for his family, for his community – nobody will remember it in a century.  Sadly, that is a very common tale…

The same could be said for my father, who passed away more than seven years ago.  Sure, we talk about him.  But will my kids?  Maybe.  But what about their kids, who don’t yet exist, and never met him?  Unlikely.

It’s the measure of a man, on how loved he is.  Not POPULAR.  I mean loved.  I mean the impact he made in others’ lives.  My dad did that.  My father in law did that.  Likely you can say the same about those you have loved and lost.

But only one man has made the eternal impact that matters most.  Only God in flesh, the Lord Jesus Christ, sacrificed all He had, joyfully, for you.  And for me.

We are approaching Easter.  I mean, we have some two months yet.  But it’ll be here, and gone, before we know it.  Just like Christmas. The seasons pass, another holiday, another year.  It’s real easy to just let them float by.  And – that saddens me…

What am I doing to make some sort of “lasting impact” in my kids lives?  Or my grandchildren?  How am I showing them THEY MATTER.  To me, sure.  To God, surely.  Do they see my life, and know Jesus is real?  That is what matters most.  I’m not talking about whether they do “religious things”.  I’m talking about seeing Christ in me.  About desiring God,or more of God, because they see that impact in me.  I’m talking about a lasting legacy that is NOT me.  Heck – when I die, I would LOVE for my name to never be mentioned, but instead Christ’s name be lifted high.

That’s what I am striving for.  That’s my greatest desire…

As I mentioned in the other posts, I am selling this record to raise money for marriage counseling.  Please prayerfully consider giving to this cause, to save maybe just ONE marriage.  You can buy my music here:

My Praise

Wedding Coat EP

Or, if you like, you can donate directly to the ministry here:

https://northlandcounseling.us/Donate.html

I have a goal to raise $1000, and I will match that dollar for dollar.  As of today, we are at $1022, counting my match.  As Jon Bon Jovi says, “We’re halfway there!”  Will you help me obtain this goal?

I love you!

T.

Measure Of A Man (Frail)

 

Leave a Reply

