Am I My Brother’s Keeper?

My Praise Cover 4

Why Am I My Brother’s Keeper?

Another song off my record, “My Praise” – the second of two projects I put together and am selling to raise funds for marriage counseling, for some couple or couples I may never meet.  🙂  You can read about it here:

Wedding Coat Campaign

Know the Truth Ministries

I wrote this song some time ago, based on a conversation with a dear friend.  He was talking about Cain’s response to God, when asked where Able was – “Am I my brother’s keeper?”.  Our discussion was around how we, as Christians, tend to put ourselves into a protective shell, and neglect the people around us who NEED us.  More important – we neglect our Lord’s commandment to love our neighbor as ourself…

So this song definitely has a negative connotation to it.  Sounds like I’m advocating for puffing oneself up and ignoring the needs of others.  I’m not – I’m confessing this tenancy in myself, as well as exposing it in all of us – Christian or not.

Lately, with all the stuff going on in our country – refugees coming over, being shunned, unwelcome; children given a “gift” of permanent brain damage due to pollution in the water that we helped contribute to, being ignored; A man’s death sparking more controversy over political views “Who is right to fill the seat” than concern for his family – I have to ask – Are we being our brother’s keeper?

Before anyone reads this and immediately jumps to defense, please don’t.  I’m not hear to argue for or against any side, with regards to the topics I mention above, or any for that matter.  I’m asking you to check your heart…  Are you being your brother’s keeper?

Heck – often we don’t know what to do!  So it cripples us.  We – DO NOTHING.  Move on to something we can control, are comfortable with. I do this all the time.

I have had a heart for homeless people, since I was saved.  I will (not often enough) go out and bring food and feed people, with the hope they would be willing to just sit down and chat.  It doesn’t always work out – I don’t want to force myself on anyone.  But when it does work out – man, these people – PEOPLE – who most everyone turns their gaze away from… – feel for a moment like they are human again!  We pray, I share the good news with them, get to know their story, talk about myself a bit.  It’s a lovely time.

BUT – I fail in two huge areas.  One, I will seek MY comfort over doing this, all too often.  In fact, it’s been a long time since I’ve done this.  But two, which is worse – if I have nothing to offer a person on the street (It happens – I don’t carry cash, almost ever, and often don’t have food or anything on myself), I too will turn my gaze away…  Because I feel like if I have nothing to give this person, I will offend.  Dumb – I have MYSELF to give, in that moment!  It’s something I am praying about, and asking God to change in me.  It’s fear, and there is no fear in love.

So – this song.  It’s about all that.  I hope it hits you, in some way.  Cause if you are like me, you need to be shaken up a bit, every now and then.  We were created for more.  We were saved by our Savior Jesus Christ, for so much more…

As I mentioned in the other posts, I am selling this record to raise money for marriage counseling.  Please prayerfully consider giving to this cause, to save maybe just ONE marriage.  You can buy my music here:

My Praise

Wedding Coat EP

Or, if you like, you can donate directly to the ministry here:

https://northlandcounseling.us/Donate.html

I have a goal to raise $1000, and I will match that dollar for dollar.  As of today, we are at $1062, counting my match.  As Jon Bon Jovi says, “We’re halfway there!”  Will you help me obtain this goal?

I love you!

T.

Why Am I My Brother’s Keeper?

Leave a Reply

