Why I’m Not Voting Against Trump… Or Clinton…

File this not under “advice”, but “perspective”.

As with most every presidential election year, the argument that a vote outside of the two party system is “a vote for the other team”,or a “wasted vote”.  I always question that.  I just can’t get my head around that way of thinking.  I have never voted third party for a president, but I so often wonder, if you don’t like EITHER candidate, why vote for them?

I’ll get every argument for why the other is the lesser of two evils.  Hillary will bankrupt us.  Or maybe Donald will.  Donald is a thief.  Or maybe Hillary is.  Democrats want everything handed to them.  No wait – that was Republicans.  Yeah, they are greedy and selfish.  No wait – that was Democrats.  What???

So I’m not a political voice, no will I pretend to be, and I’m not writing with the desire to sway anyone’s vote. You wanna vote for Donald Trump?  Go for it!  You wanna vote For Hillary Clinton?  Be my guest!  Stay home altogether?  Enjoy your evening (or day)!  Vote third party – yep, you guessed it!  I’ll back ya 100%.  It’s YOUR VOTE.  Vote your conscience.

For many, that could very well be voting against someone or something.  I can’t stand so and so, and all they stand for.  Be that a person or  a party.  OK – again, it’s your vote.  Vote as you see fit.

For me, I struggle with the thought of voting AGAINST someone, at the cost of potentially voting FOR someone or something I’m – STILL not OK with.  It’s like making the saying, “Pick your poison”, actually true.

Do I think either Hilary or Donald will ruin this country?  Man, I don’t know…  Maybe.   But really, if either does, they are just the straw that broke the camel’s back.  I’ve never seen a straw break anyone or anything’s back – it’s the weight piled on before said straw, over time – the wear and tear, over time.  We’ve been ruining our country since the beginning.  We’ve been ruining our WORLD since the beginning.  Or better yet – since the fall…

So do I think a third party will be better?  I don’t know.  Maybe?  I think it is quite interesting, this year, having two candidates that are so blatantly – wrong.  Will that drive many to think of a third party as a viable option?  Or will they maybe renegotiate on their own morals, for sake of “not having the worst of the worst” in office?

I don’t want to waste a lot of time spelling out what I’m talking about, with regards to our two leading candidates – you have read the headlines, you have heard them speak, you have seen their track records.  You can figure that out for yourself. Ask yourself, as you do, are you justifying anything your candidate is doing, for sake of party/politics?  Going deeper – if the other candidate were the one doing that, would you attack them?  That’s for you to work out.  🙂

The point is this:  I believe that while our world is falling apart at the seams, God is in control.  He’s not surprised by any of this.  I don’t say this with my head in the sand.  I am not putting on rose colored glasses.  I mean, He’s turning us over to our sin, as a people.  And He’s doing so because HE LOVES US.

The wrath of God is being revealed from heaven against all the godlessness and wickedness of people, who suppress the truth by their wickedness (Romans 1:18)

By His wrath being revealed, we as a people will eventually return to Him.  Not because He is some wicked pagan god, who needs a sacrifice to be appeased (Like the Brady Bunch episode with the tiki doll).  Not because He needs us.  Because HE LOVES US.  And while we rejected Him, He draws us in through Jesus the Christ, which has been His redemptive plan since the very  beginning.  Yes – before the fall…

So – we’re a hot mess. Anyone who looks at what is going on in our country,in our world – no matter what your worldview is – if they are being honest, they will agree.  But think about that – God KNOWS this.  He’s not surprised by it.  It’s a direct result of our rejecting Him, suppressing the truth for a lie.  And He’s working that all for the good of those who love Him, and For His glory. Amen!

All wrongs will be made right.  They already have been, in Christ.  All sorrow will be turned in to joy.  It already has been, in Christ.  Every knee will bow, every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is LORD.

So – my vote.  It doesn’t change God’s trajectory.  However, it is a gift given by God.  So I will use that gift as I see fit.  I will vote my conscience.  And I will sleep well the evening of November 8.

So I’m not voting against anyone.  In fact, I don’t even want to make it my business of expressing what I’m AGAINST, unless I can express what I’m actually FOR. I’m for Christ Jesus.  I’m for life.  I’m for you, because Christ is for you.  And He’s come to set the captives free.  Even you…

Leave a Reply

