Understand…

I tend to loathe scripted prayers.  Probably from my upbringing, where scripted prayers were all we did.  I feel impersonal, if ever reciting them.  Heck, even the Lord’s prayer, which is a wonderful model of how to pray – I get a crusty heart as I think back on the many times I recited it with no life.

But I will be the first to say, I’m wrong.  Not because I think we should only recite scripted prayers.  Because it’s STILL my heart, that looks upon someone else’s petitions with anything but their intent.  Worse – with a sense of “My dumb prayer is much better than their eloquent one”.  But that’s just me.  🙂

I’ve had the prayer we commonly call “the Prayer of St. Francis of Assisi” on my heart lately.  God has pressed on me to seek this, in my life.  To be a light for others, I need to share with others – if even just my life, if even just being there with no words.  But to share with others, I must care.  I must have compassion for them.  More.  Much more than I do…

So – this prayer is on my heart.  To seek to understand others.  To seek to console others.  To seek to love others.  To seek others…  As You do, Lord…

“Lord, make me an instrument of thy peace.
Where there is hatred, let me sow love;
Where there is injury, pardon;
Where there is doubt, faith;
Where there is despair, hope;
Where there is darkness, light;
Where there is sadness, joy.

O divine Master, grant that I may not so much seek
To be consoled as to console,
To be understood as to understand,
To be loved as to love;
For it is in giving that we receive;
It is in pardoning that we are pardoned;
It is in dying to self that we are born to eternal life.”

Leave a Reply

