Bold and Courageous…

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”
(Joshua 1:9)

I think there is a striking similarity in this video:

And this blog post:

https://lastchanceamerica.wordpress.com/2016/07/27/to-the-never-trumper-a-biblical-case-for-trump/

I’d ask that you first watch the video, in its entirety, and read the blog post, in its entirety, then come back to my post.

……

Did you watch the ENTIRE video?

……

And read the ENTIRE post?

…….

OK, ready?  🙂

What do I see as similar? Not their stance on who to vote for, clearly.  Maybe a little their reasoning behind their stance – both persons are concerned for our future, for our children’s future.  But more than their reasoning – it’s the PASSION and the courage, to stand up for what they believe in.  It doesn’t matter if I believe it – they do and they make no bones about it.  So much so, they are willing to plead with others to do the same.  As Frank Schaeffer says, he would run into a burning car to save his grandchildren – that’s the level of urgency he has for pleading with us to vote for his candidate.  And the anonymous write of the post, states the same in hers.

Now, to be clear – I’m not saying that anything is right, if you believe it enough.  I’m not even suggesting which one is right and which is wrong – you likely already have your opinions on that, have strongly agreed or disagreed with one or both points of view.  The video and blog post aren’t even the point of this post.

My point is this:  If we can find truth in God’s word, if the truth sets us free, if Jesus the Christ is the way and the truth and the life, and nobody comes to the Father except through Him – then why would we as Christ followers not have the same passion these two advocates have, to spread the Gospel?  Why would I not plead with you, as Frank says he will, these next four months until election day?

And so that is what I will do.  I can’t make you believe anything.  Faith in Christ is up to Christ alone.  And I know that I am not a great debater, so I will not win an argument to save my life.  But as an ambassador for Christ, if I’m going to advocate for anyone, it’s going to be Christ.  Anyone or anything else, is just – temporary.

So – to paraphrase Frank Shaeffer- I’m asking you to PLEASE listen.  With your ears, with your heart – with your mind.  PLEASE, stop suppressing the truth for a lie.  PLEASE stop choosing death, when you know life is in Christ.  PLEASE.

I speak the truth in Christ—I am not lying, my conscience confirms it through the Holy Spirit—I have great sorrow and unceasing anguish in my heart.  For I could wish that I myself were cursed and cut off from Christ for the sake of my people
(Romans 9:1-3)

“Come now, let us reason[c] together, says the Lord:
though your sins are like scarlet,
    they shall be as white as snow;
though they are red like crimson,
    they shall become like wool.
If you are willing and obedient,
    you shall eat the good of the land;
but if you refuse and rebel,
    you shall be eaten by the sword;
    for the mouth of the Lord has spoken.”
(Isaiah 1:18-20)

 

Leave a Reply

