Song Story #1 – “Sins of the Father”

sins-of-the-father-final

Sins of the Father

This song was borne out of the concept I wanted to write about.  This is often how records come about for me – I get an idea in my head, which may turn into a song, or may turn into a theme I start writing a batch of songs around.  In this case, both happened.

Sins of the father – biblically-speaking, there are two thoughts I could find on this:

The one who sins is the one who will die.  The child will not share the guilt of the parent, nor will the parent share the guilt of the child.  The righteousness of the righteous will be credited to them, and the wickedness of the wicked will be charged against them.
(Ezekiel 18:20)

The Lord is slow to anger, abounding in love and forgiving sin and rebellion.  Yet he does not leave the guilty unpunished; he punishes the children for the sin of the parents to the third and fourth generation.
(Numbers 14:18)

Now, it likely gets deeper than I will go in this post.  And I’m not a theologian.  I’m just putting my thoughts down, what directed me and my thinking, as I wrote this song.

“Generational sin” is something that, as a parent, I have prayed about many, many times.  Yes, often out of fear.  That may not be right – we’re told not to fear, that true love casts out fear.  However, I do trust that God allows me to fret, when it leads me to Him (as opposed to just being anxious).

But in the above passages, we see two different thoughts.  As I consider them, I don’t think they contradict each other, as much as spell out HOW God might punish children (Note the word “punish”, not “kill” or “put to death”).  A couple points.

“The one who sins is the one who will die”.  You know the story of Adam and Eve.  You know that God said they would die if they ate the fruit of the tree of the knowledge of good and evil.  And – they did.  Both physically, in time, and spiritually, immediately (they were removed from the garden, and separated from the God who created them).

But their kids – they were not put to death for their parents sin.  We see in the story of Cain and Able, how God was pleased with Able – because he gave his best to the LORD.  And we see that Cain was sent away – COMPLETELY AWAY – from the presence of God, for killing his brother…  “Put to death”, spiritually, for his own sin, not his father’s sin.  Adam and Eve did not pay for Cain’s sin (other than suffering the loss of two sons that day).

Yet God says He will punish the children for 3 and 4 generations?  How does this line up?

If you follow Cain’s lineage, you see that they became more and more godless.  They knew nothing of God, and their lack of goodness showed.  To the point where Lamech, a descendant of Cain, justified murder because, well, “Cain did it”.

Again, not a theologian.  I could have this wrong.  But I think we are punished – or cursed – thanks to Adam and Eve.  But the curse is that we will pretty much repeat their sin ourselves.  And we are put to death for OUR sin.

You do what you know…

And I think this “punishment”, is the curse God talks about.  God is a God of love.  But He’s most definitely a just God, and His wrath is just.  Part of His wrath, as we are here on earth, is turning us over to our sin so it multiplies.  Godlessness begets godlessness (Read Romans 1).  We teach our children there is no God, when we live as if there is no God…

And I’ve lived a lot of my life as if there is no God.  Or as if I’m a god…

You do what you know…

I’ve spent countless hours, on my knees, in tears, over my children.  The devil may have taken much from me, or used me to take much from others.  But I’ll be damned if he’ll do the same to and through my kids.  Lord, let it not be…

So, that is a pretty heavy way of describing the concept of this song, and really, this record.  🙂

Musically – this is not my favorite song on the record.  It’s probably my least favorite actually.  I’m experimenting with doing more synth-type things.  I’m still learning.  I like what I got here – but don’t love it.  Maybe you’ll like it better?  Maybe you’ll hate it?  I kept it though, because the lyric sets the tone for the entire record.  Think of it as laying out the plot of the story for you.  And, really, the Gospel message.  We’ve all fallen short of God’s glory.  We have all sinned, which leads to death.  But thank God, that He gave us the gift of life in Christ Jesus.  That while we were still sinners, He sent His only begotten Son, that whoever believes would not perish, but have eternal life…

I would love to hear from you, what you think of it.  And – even with my “unselling”, I do hope you enjoy the record!  🙂

Love,

T.

Sins of the Father
“As a man is, so is his strength”, they say
But man’s strength alone will not accomplish anything
Man reaps what he sows, so the story goes
There’s no “victim-less crime”, don’t believe what you’re told

The sins of the father will not put to death the son
But my past has left a trail that affects everyone

Standing at the edge, see the fallout of my life
My children are the victims, they flash before my eyes
You make all things new, can You remake this too?
I’m counting on Your promise, I’m holding fast to You

The sins of the father will not put to death the son
But my past has left a trail that affects everyone
The sins of the father, they will afflict the son
But mercy triumphs over judgement
Redemption is won

Sins of the Father

 

Leave a Reply

