Song Story #3 – Stars and the Sea

sins-of-the-father-final

Stars and the Sea

I talked a bit about this song in another recent post, but I’ll go a bit more into it here.

I wrote this from two perspectives:

  1. How I, a fallen man, can love my kids beyond measure – or at least my measure
  2. How a perfect God can love you and me, beyond measure…

When you listen and read the lyrics, from the perspective of an earthly father or mother, for many that is not hard to grasp.  Sadly for some, it is impossible to grasp…  But for many, they get it.  A parent loves their child more than life itself.

But when you consider that our Father in heaven loves us beyond our imagination…  I think that is overwhelming.  I think we either don’t want to know, or can’t fathom, just how deep and wide and far is the love of the Father.

“I have loved you with an everlasting love…” 
     (Jeremiah 31:3)

God is speaking to you.  Yes, you.

And not because of your beauty, or your body, or your brain, or your strength, or your ability to make an incredible pour-over.

God loves you, the child who feels like nobody cares.  Who wonders if his parents even know his name…  God knows your name.  He knew you before you were formed in the womb.  God numbers the hairs on your head.  Get that?  The Creator of the universe DOTES OVER YOU.

“I have loved you with an everlasting love…” 

God loves you, the girl who wishes her parents would stop yelling – at her, at each other…  God is patient, kind, keeps no record of wrongs.  God does not holler at you over and over, but leads you to Him by His kindness.

“I have loved you with an everlasting love…” 

God loves you, the man who strives for perfection, because he finds his identity in his accomplishments and in the praise of other men…  God doesn’t look at your accomplishments, your awards, your looks.  God looks at your heart.

“I have loved you with an everlasting love…” 

God loves you, the woman who continually gives herself to man after man, hoping one will actually mean it when he says, “I love you”…  God values you as his daughter.  Get that?  YOU ARE THE DAUGHTER OF THE KING!

“I have loved you with an everlasting love…” 

God loves you, the man who was passed over for every promotion, who is struggling to support his family, who wishes things worked out a little differently…  God has great plans for you.  Plans for your to prosper, and not for harm.

“I have loved you with an everlasting love…” 

God loves you, the girl who has known nothing but abuse, from parent, to foster-parent, to pimp…  God will gather you as a mother hen gathers her chicks.   God will guard you as the apple of His eye.

“I have loved you with an everlasting love…” 

God loves you, the man who has been told his entire life that his sexual preference makes him an abomination…  Let me be clear, God HAS NEVER CALLED YOU AN ABOMINATION.  No, He wants to run to you with open arms and embrace you.

“I have loved you with an everlasting love…” 

God loves you, the woman who thinks, “There is no way I can be loved by God.  Have you no idea what I’ve done?”.  Have you no idea what He’s done for you?

“I have loved you with an everlasting love…” 

God loves you, the man who thinks he has no need for God…  Your story is not yet complete.  And God’s kindness IS leading you to repentance.  And in the very same way, He will rejoice over you, His treasure.

“I have loved you with an everlasting love…” 

These might sound like just words.  I pray they don’t.  I pray they sink in.  I pray the lies you have believed your entire life would finally be recognized as such.  And the truth that will set you free, would be fully embraced.

I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.
(Ephesians 3:17-19)

Stars and the Sea
It doesn’t matter if you want my love
It doesn’t matter what you’re thinking of
It doesn’t matter if you never think of me

It doesn’t matter if you tell me where to go
If if you tell me you don’t really know
All that matters is I love you eternally

As far as the stars and the sea
My love for you will reach

It doesn’t matter what you think you’ve done
I know it all, I paid it all, it’s done
All that matters is I love you eternally

As far as the stars and the sea
My love for you will reach

Stars and the Sea

 

Leave a Reply

