The Songs

old-dogs-cover

Old Dogs

I made this EP as a sort of “tribute” to my friends who played with me in the Moondogs for many years.  Steve Parenteau, Derek Kosch, Tony Preston, Tom Carlon.  We did a lot of shows, made a lot of crappy records – we had a lot of fun.

We did a reunion show last summer, which would have also been 20 years.  Crazy…  It got me thinking, I’d like to re-do some of those older songs.  So – I did!  Here is a rundown.

Burning Bridges – This is really a mish-mash of riffs from various Moondog songs, put into a new song.  I didn’t want to just recreate what we created 20 years ago.  So I opted for something new out of the old.  I like how this song turned out, it has a cool groove.

“Burning Bridges” is not meant to “cut ties with those who are not like me”.  It’s more cutting ties with the temptation to fall into sin.  “I’m a wrecking ball on sin”, applies to my life only – I don’t see myself “wrecking sin” in others’ lives, I think Jesus does that just fine.  🙂  BUT if this song can serve as an encouragement to others, wonderful!

She Don’t Know – I always loved this song, though I’m not sure we ever played it live.  I was trying to reproduce “Somebody’s Baby” by Jackson Browne.  I didn’t really get it 20 years ago, and I didn’t really try to get it this time around.  But I like how this rendition turned out.

Tears Are Falling – Yes, the Kiss song.  This song has nothing to do with my old band.  Although Steve and I did play “Heaven’s On Fire” in our high school band (and horribly).  I put it on, because I thought it fit the tone of the record.  I was listening to this while running, and the thought came to me, “What if Crowded House did this song?”  So I tried to record it with that in mind.  I did keep part of Bruce Kulick’s guitar solo (the only part I could play).  But it’s definitely different than the Kiss version.  I’d like to get them a copy, because Kiss is the reason I ever picked up a guitar.

Cry In Vain – Another song we never played live in the Moondogs.  Not necessarily my favorite.  I can’t recall why I chose this one to re-do?  But I kinda like how it turned out.  Musically, it flows better than it did 20 years ago.  And lyrically, it’s a bit different.  It used to be a song about relational hopelessness.  I changed a few words, and it became a song about hope.  So I like how it turned out.  And I’m getting more into playing the Fender Rhodes on my songs.  Some day maybe I’ll get good at it.

How You Hurt Me – I wanted to write a Rick Springfield song with this one.  It’s a fun song.  We did play this one a lot in the Moondogs.  It was a fun one to play, especially as it explodes at the end.

It’s really kind of a dumb rock song.  I’m ok with that, really.  Rock and roll can be dumb from time to time.  We all need to be silly from time to time.

As I mentioned in my last post, you can get this record on cassette!  And soon on 8-track as well!  Both versions will get you a digital copy – or you can just buy the download if you prefer.

And there is always itunes, Spotify, Amazon, whatever you prefer.

I give the money I make away, because I like to and someone else can use that money.  This time around, I chose an organization called “To Write Love On Her Arms”.  They are a wonderful organization, their mission being:

To Write Love on Her Arms is a non-profit movement dedicated to presenting hope and finding help for people struggling with depression, addiction, self-injury, and suicide. TWLOHA exists to encourage, inform, inspire, and also to invest directly into treatment and recovery.

EVERYONE knows someone who struggles with depression or addiction, and/or might even be that person.  While I know money thrown at a problem doesn’t just fix the problem – money given to people who want to fix the problem is never a bad thing.  And my heart’s desire is for people to know they MATTER.  God cares for His children, loves His people.  I want them to know that.  I want YOU to know that.  More than anything, I want you to KNOW that.

If you feel so inclined, you could give to TWLOHA directly.

I really hope you like the record.  There will be more…  🙂

Old Dogs

Leave a Reply

